clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bucks advance to 2021 NBA Finals with 118-107 win over Hawks in Game 6

Khris Middleton and Jrue Holiday propel the Bucks to the NBA Finals for the first time since 1973-74.

2021 NBA Playoffs - Milwaukee Bucks v Atlanta Hawks
Khris Middleton of the Milwaukee Bucks dribbles the ball during Game 6 of the Eastern Conference Finals of the 2021 NBA Playoffs on July 3, 2021 at State Farm Arena in Atlanta, Georgia.
Photo by Scott Cunningham/NBAE via Getty Images

Khris Middleton continued his strong play with 32 points and Jrue Holiday added 27 as the Milwaukee Bucks wrapped up the Eastern conference finals with a 118-107 win over the Atlanta Hawks in Game 6. Trae Young returned to the lineup after missing two games but was ineffective, going 4-17 from the floor. The guard finished with 14 points and nine assists. Cam Reddish provided a spark off the bench with 21 points but it wasn’t enough for Atlanta.

Milwaukee covered the spread at +2.5. The over hit at 216.5.

The teams were neck and neck for much of the first half with the Bucks taking a 47-43 lead into the break. Milwaukee made a 13-2 run early in the third quarter and finished the period on a 15-8 spurt, resulting in a 44-29 advantage in the period.

The Hawks fought back and got within single digits late, but the Bucks made enough shots to seal the deal. Giannis Antetokounmpo has missed the last two games due to a hyperextended knee but hasn’t been ruled out for the rest of the season. He could return for Game 1 of the Finals, but the Bucks have no reason to rush him back.

The Hawks will have to go back to the drawing board after a thrilling playoff run. Atlanta has to make a decision on interim coach Nate McMillan while also dealing with John Collins’ restricted free agency. The Hawks will have salary cap space and can make moves to create even more room as they hope to supplement a budding core with the right pieces to take the next step.

The Bucks will meet the Phoenix Suns in the 2021 NBA Finals. which begin Tuesday, July 6.