clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Who is being inducted into Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday and Sunday? Why two days?

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is split over two days this year. We explain why and who is being inducted when.

Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrines’ Gold Jackets hang in the background awaiting ownership on August 4, 2017 in Canton, Ohio. Photo by John Leyba/The Denver Post via Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame wraps up enshrinement week with a pair of ceremonies to honor 19 new members to Canton. All 19 received their gold jackets on Friday night. Their inductions will be split up into Saturday and Sunday. The 12 members of the Class of 2020 will be enshrined on Saturday, August 7, and the 7 members of the Class of 2021 will be enshrined on Sunday, August 8.

The dual classes is a unique situation due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Class of 2020 was announced Super Bowl weekend in 2020. They were all set to get their gold jackets and busts, followed by giving their speeches thanking everybody who helped them along the way. However, the pandemic broke out and the NFL canceled the entire preseason. Training camp took place but there were no games and no Hall of Fame ceremony.

At the time the plan was to move the festivities back to 2020, and that has held up. The 2020 class will get their own day to be honored, followed a day later by the 2021 class. On Saturday, the 2020 enshrinement will air on ESPN and NFL Network starting at 6:30 p.m. ET. On Sunday, the 2021 enshrinement will air on ESPN and NFL Network starting at 7 p.m. ET. Both will be available via live stream at WatchESPN.

Below is a breakdown of the two classes, listed in order of when they will speak each day.

Saturday, Class of 2020

  1. Harold Carmichael
  2. Cliff Harris
  3. Edgerrin James
  4. Steve Atwater
  5. Paul Tagliabue
  6. Steve Hutchinson
  7. Donnie Shell
  8. Isaac Bruce
  9. Jimbo Covert
  10. Troy Polamalu
  11. Jimmy Johnson
  12. Bill Cowher

Sunday, Class of 2021

  1. Drew Pearson
  2. Tom Flores
  3. Peyton Manning
  4. John Lynch
  5. Calvin Johnson
  6. Alan Faneca
  7. Charles Woodson