clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin Herbert wins 2020 Offensive Rookie of the Year award

The sixth overall pick from Oregon burst onto the scene in 2020. Now Herbert joins an elite list.

NFL: Denver Broncos at Los Angeles Chargers Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The 2020 Offensive Rookie of the Year goes to Los Angeles Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert. The award was announced Saturday evening at the NFL Honors program. The Chargers QB sent a bolt of energy into the offense, showing signs of great things to come. Herbert will join the likes of Kyler Murray and Dak Prescott in claiming the award.

After parting ways with long-time franchise cornerstone Philip Rivers, the Chargers gave the starting spot to Tyrod Taylor. In Week 2, the team doctor accidentally punctured Taylor’s lung, opening the proverbial door for Justin Herbert. While the rookie was only able to lead Los Angeles to six wins, he flashed loads of promise in his quarterbacking capabilities. The Chargers may have struck gold with Justin Herbert, that is if they can field a team around him.

Herbert (396 completions, tied with Josh Allen) only trailed Matt Ryan, Tom Brady, and Ben Roethlisberger in completions this season, while also playing one game fewer than Ryan and Brady. He finished sixth in passing yards with 4,336 and tenth in passing touchdowns with 31. Herbert showcased his above average rushing ability, as well, tallying five TDs and 234 yards on the ground.

Justin now holds the rookie records for the following: total touchdowns (36), passing touchdowns, completions, multi-passing touchdown games (ten), games with 300 passing yards (eight), and three-passing TD games (six). Herbert is the tenth quarterback and the second Chargers player to win the Offensive Rookie of the Year award.