clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ESPN, NBA announce plans, players for ‘NBA HORSE Challenge’

ESPN and the NBA are bringing HORSE to television. The contest will feature current and former NBA and WNBA stars. We break down the players, dates, times, and more for the coming tournament.

Zach LaVine of the Chicago Bulls drives against Trae Young of the Atlanta Hawks in the second half at State Farm Arena on November 06, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The 2019-2020 NBA season remains suspended, but the league and its players continue figuring out ways to keep fans engaged. The players-only 2k tournament wraps up this weekend, and now the league has finalized plans for a HORSE contest.

ESPN announced plans the NBA HORSE Challenge to take place Sunday April 12th and Thursday April 16th. It will feature eight players facing off in quarterfinals on the 12th from 7-9 p.m. ET, followed by the semifinals and finals on the 16th from 9-11 p.m. ET. Each player will be isolated at their own home court.

The contest will feature the following eight players facing off in the quarterfinals:

Trae Young vs. Chauncey Billups
Tamika Catchings vs. Mike Conley Jr.
Zach LaVine vs. Paul Pierce
Chris Paul vs. Allie Quigley

The semifinals will feature the winner of Young-Billups facing the winner of Catchings-Conley and the winner of LaVine-Pierce facing the winner of Paul-Quigley.

Per ESPN, a coin toss at the start of each game will determine who shoots first, with the more senior player calling heads or tails. Players must describe each shot attempt, specifying the type of score they intend to make before taking a shot, such as a bank shot or swish. Dunking is prohibited. The first player in each game to accumulate the letters “H-O-R-S-E” after failing to match five shots is eliminated.