clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Athletics, Rays unveil 25-man rosters, starting lineups for Wild Card game

The A’s and Rays square off Wednesday evening, and that morning they unveiled their rosters for the game. We’ve got the full list and some notable info.

Oakland Athletics second baseman Franklin Barreto throws the ball to first base to record an out during the first inning against the Milwaukee Brewers at Oakland Coliseum. Darren Yamashita-USA TODAY Sports

The Oakland Athletics and Tampa Bay Rays square off Wednesday evening in the American League Wild Card game, with first pitch set for 8:08 p.m. on ESPN. Earlier Wednesday morning, the teams released their 25-man rosters for the game. The winner will be able to adjust their roster for the divisional series matchup with the Houston Astros, so this first roster is focused on the win-or-go-home nature of the Wild Card round.

Oakland Athletics roster

The most notable news is the A’s decision to leave outfielder Stephen Piscotty off the roster. He was sidelined back in late August with an ankle sprain, but had gotten back into game action on the final day of the regular season. The team elected to go with Franklin Barreto as the extra player.

Infielders (7): Franklin Barreto, Matt Chapman, Sheldon Neuse, Matt Olson, Chad Pinder, Jurickson Profar, Marcus Semien

Outfielders (5): Seth Brown, Mark Canha, Khris Davis, Robbie Grossman, Ramon Laureano

Catchers (2): Sean Murphy, Josh Phegley

Pitchers (11): Chris Bassitt, Ryan Buchter, Jake Diekman, Mike Fiers, Liam Hendriks, Jesus Luzardo, Sean Manaea, Yusmeiro Petit, A.J. Puk, Joakim Soria, J.B. Wendelken

Tampa Bay Rays roster

There aren’t many surprises in the Rays final roster. Blake Snell started the regular season finale on Sunday, but would be available as an emergency relief option if things go haywire. Infielder Yandy Diaz got the nod over Eric Sogard, who is still dealing with a foot injury.

Pitchers (10): Nick Anderson, Emilio Pagan, Diego Castillo, Colin Poche, Oliver Drake, Chaz Roe, Tyler Glasnow, Blake Snell, Charlie Morton, Ryan Yarbrough

Catchers (2): Travis d’Arnaud, Mike Zunino

Infielders (9): Willy Adams, Jesus Aguilar, Mike Brosseau, Ji-Man Choi, Yandy Diaz, Matt Duffy, Brandon Lowe, Daniel Robertson, Joey Wendle

Outfielders (4): Avisail Garcia, Kevin Kiermaier, Austin Meadows, Tommy Pham