clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Busch Light Clash starting lineup: Denny Hamlin claims pole for re-scheduled race at Coliseum

We’ve got updates as Saturday qualifying heats settles lineups for the last chance Sunday qualifying at the Busch Light Clash at the LA Memorial Coliseum.

A general overall aerial view of the temporary asphalt racetrack at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on January 28, 2024 in Los Angeles, California prior to the NASCAR Busch Light Clash at the Coliseum. Photo by Kirby Lee/Getty Images

Update - Denny Hamlin claimed pole position for the re-scheduled race. The full starting lineup is listed below.

Update - NASCAR officials have rescheduled the preseason Busch Light Clash to Saturday night at 8 p.m. ET due to severe weather in the Los Angeles area. Practice for the NASCAR Cup Series was rescheduled to Saturday at 5:35 p.m. ET.

The 2024 NASCAR season starts in two weeks at the Daytona 500, but in the meantime, the Cup Series will run its annual Busch Clash at the Coliseum in Los Angeles. The exhibition race does not impact the regular season but does give drivers a chance to get back used to the competitive circuit.

The race is scheduled for Sunday and is preceded by two rounds of qualifying across Saturday and Sunday. On Saturday, there will be four qualifying heats starting at 8:30 p.m. ET. The starting lineups for each of the four heats will be determined by practice at 6 p.m. The fastest gets the Q1 pole, second fastest gets Q2 pole, third gets Q3 pole, fourth gets Q4 pole, fifth gets second spot in Q1, and so forth.

The top five in each qualifying heat clinches a spot in Sunday’s race. The rest of the field will then compete in a Last Chance Qualifying race on Sunday ahead of the main race.

We’ll be providing updates throughout practice and qualifying.

Denny Hamlin finishes with 13.139 and is the fastest overall, emerging as pole winner. Below is the full starting lineup.

Here is the starting lineup for the Busch Light Clash at the Coliseum

2024 Busch Clash at the Coliseum starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Denny Hamlin 11
2 Joey Logano 22
3 Ty Gibbs 54
4 Alex Bowman 48
5 Kyle Busch 8
6 William Byron 24
7 Ross Chastain 1
8 Kyle Larson 5
9 Bubba Wallace 23
10 Justin Haley 51
11 Tyler Reddick 45
12 Ryan Preece 41
13 Brad Keselowski 6
14 Chase Elliott 9
15 Michael McDowell 34
16 Todd Gilliland 38
17 Noah Gragson 10
18 Corey LaJoie 7
19 Martin Truex Jr 19
20 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47
21 John H. Nemechek 42
22 Chase Briscoe 14
23 Ryan Blaney 12