clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Bubba Wallace claims pole position for Texas Cup Series race

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for the AutoTrader EchoPark Automotive 400 at Texas Motor Speedway.

A general view of racing during the NASCAR Cup Series Auto Trader EchoPark Automotive 500 at Texas Motor Speedway on September 25, 2022 in Fort Worth, Texas. Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Final qualifying results: Bubba Wallace was the fastest driver in the second round of qualifying and claimed pole position for the AutoTrader EchoPark Automative 400 on Sunday. Chris Buescher will join him on the front row. The full starting lineup is listed below.

Group B qualifying results: The second half of the field ran through the first round of qualifying and Bubba Wallace was the fastest driver in that group. Denny Hamlin, Ross Chastain, Ty Gibbs, and Chris Buescher will join him in the second round.

Group A qualifying results: The first half of the field ran through the first round of qualifying and Christopher Bell was the fastest driver in the group. A.J. Allmendinger, Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski, and Daniel Suarez will join him in the second round.

The NASCAR Cup Series continues its 2023 playoffs this weekend with the AutoTrader EchoPark Automotive 400. This is the first race of the second round of the playoffs, and this plus the next two races will cut the field from 12 drivers to eight.

The race will run at Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday, but the day before we get qualifying to determine the starting lineup. It gets started at 1:20 p.m. ET and will air on USA Network and via NBC Sports Live and the NBC Sports App. The field will be divided in half and the drivers will run single-car, one-lap qualifying. Each driver gets one lap to secure their fastest time. The five fastest in each group advance and compete for pole position in the second round of qualifying.

Kyle Larson and Denny Hamlin each won a race in the first round of this year’s playoffs, and they open as co-favorites to win the first second round race at DraftKings Sportsbook. They’re sitting at +450 and followed by William Byron at +700. Tyler Reddick is the defending fall Texas race champ and is +800 to repeat.

Here is the full entry list for Sunday’s AutoTrader EchoPark Automotive 400 Cup Series race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2023 AutoTrader EchoPark Automotive 400 starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Bubba Wallace 23
2 Chris Buescher 17
3 Brad Keselowski 6
4 Ty Gibbs 54
5 Ross Chastain 1
6 A.J. Allmendinger 16
7 Kyle Busch 8
8 Daniel Suarez 99
9 Christopher Bell 20
10 Denny Hamlin 11
11 Kyle Larson 5
12 Erik Jones 43
13 Austin Dillon 3
14 Alex Bowman 48
15 Tyler Reddick 45
16 Martin Truex Jr 19
17 Michael McDowell 34
18 William Byron 24
19 Carson Hocevar 42
20 Joey Logano 22
21 Aric Almirola 10
22 Kevin Harvick 4
23 Ryan Blaney 12
24 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47
25 Ryan Preece 41
26 Ty Dillon 77
27 Corey LaJoie 7
28 Justin Haley 31
29 Chase Elliott 9
30 Harrison Burton 21
31 Chase Briscoe 14
32 Austin Cindric 2
33 Zane Smith 38
34 B.J. McLeod 78
35 J.J. Yeley 15
36 Todd Gilliland 51