clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Christopher Bell claims pole in qualifying for Bass Pro Shops Night Race

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for the Bass Pro Shops Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

A general view of pit road during the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 21, 2016 in Bristol, Tennessee. Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images

Final qualifying results: Christopher Bell was the fastest driver in the second round of qualifying and claimed pole position. Denny Hamlin will join him on the front row to start Saturday’s race. The full starting lineup will be listed below.

Group B qualifying results: Denny Hamlin was the fastest first-round qualifier in Group B. Brad Keselowski, William Byron, Michael McDowell, and Martin Truex, Jr. will join him in the second round of qualifying.

Group A qualifying results: Christopher Bell was the fastest first-round qualifier in Group A. Ty Gibbs, Corey LaJoie, Bubba Wallace, and Chase Elliott will join him in the second round of qualifying.

The NASCAR Cup Series continues its playoff series this weekend with the Bass Pro Shops Night Race. The race is running a day earlier than the usual schedule, with the green flag dropping at 7:30 p.m. ET on Saturday at Bristol Motor Speedway.

The earlier race means we get some Friday qualifying to determine the starting lineup. Qualifying will get started at 5:20 p.m. ET and will air on USA and via live stream at NBC Live. If you’re unable to watch qualifying, we’ll be providing live updates as the starting lineup is settled.

The drivers will be running two rounds of single-car, two-lap qualifying on Friday. That means each driver gets two laps to run their fastest lap time. The field is split in half for the first round, with the five fastest drivers in each group advancing to the second round. Those ten drivers then compete for pole position.

Kyle Larson arrives at qualifying as the favorite to win at DraftKings Sportsbook with +550 odds. This is the last race in the first round of the 2023 playoffs and Larson won the first of these three races to secure advancement. Tyler Reddick won last week in Kansas to also clinch a spot in the round of 12. The winner of Saturday’s race will guaranteed advancement, with the rest of the 12-driver field determined by points standings.

Here is the full entry list for Saturday’s Bass Pro Shops Night Race Cup Series race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2023 Bass Pro Shops Night Race starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Christopher Bell 20
2 Denny Hamlin 11
3 William Byron 24
4 Michael McDowell 34
5 Martin Truex Jr 19
6 Brad Keselowski 6
7 Ty Gibbs 54
8 Chase Elliott 9
9 Bubba Wallace 23
10 Corey LaJoie 7
11 Ryan Blaney 12
12 Tyler Reddick 45
13 Alex Bowman 48
14 Chase Briscoe 14
15 Kyle Busch 8
16 Carson Hocevar 42
17 Ryan Preece 41
18 Austin Dillon 3
19 Justin Haley 31
20 Chris Buescher 17
21 Kevin Harvick 4
22 A.J. Allmendinger 16
23 Ross Chastain 1
24 Daniel Suarez 99
25 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47
26 Aric Almirola 10
27 Ryan Newman 51
28 Joey Logano 22
29 Austin Cindric 2
30 Todd Gilliland 38
31 Erik Jones 43
32 Harrison Burton 21
33 Ty Dillon 77
34 B.J. McLeod 78
35 J.J. Yeley 15
36 Kyle Larson 5