clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying start time: What time is qualifying for 400 at Pocono Raceway

We go over how you can watch the qualifying event for the NASCAR 400 at Pocono Raceway.

 A general view of cars entering pit road during the NASCAR Cup Series M&M’s Fan Appreciation 400 at Pocono Raceway on July 24, 2022 in Long Pond, Pennsylvania. Photo by Logan Riely/Getty Images

The NASCAR Cup Series is fast approaching the 2023 playoffs, and Sunday’s race at Pocono Raceway will be pivotal for drivers on the bubble. The field will race in the 400, with the green flag dropping at 2:30 p.m. ET on Sunday.

The day prior, the field will run through qualifying to determine the starting lineup. The drivers will get practice in starting at 2:35 p.m. and qualifying itself will start at approximately 3:20 p.m. It features two rounds of racing and will last a little over an hour. USA Network will air qualifying with NBC Sports Live providing a live stream.

Qualifying will see the field split in half for the first round. Each driver will take part in single-car, one lap racing. The fastest five in each group will advance to the second round. Then, those ten finalists will each get another single lap to run the fastest time and secure pole position. The rest of the starting lineup will be sorted by qualifying speed.

Ahead of qualifying, Martin Truex, Jr., Kyle Busch, and Denny Hamlin are all installed at +550 to win the race at DraftKings Sportsbook. A year ago, Hamlin and Busch finished first and second but were disqualified after failing a post-race inspection. Chase Elliott finished third and was bumped up to first with the disqualifications. He’s +1200 to win outright this year.

Below is the full entry list for qualifying. It will be updated with the starting lineup following the conclusion of qualifying.

Entry list

2023 400 starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 William Byron 24
2 Martin Truex Jr 19
3 Kyle Larson 5
4 Kevin Harvick 4
5 Christopher Bell 20
6 Joey Logano 22
7 Tyler Reddick 45
8 Denny Hamlin 11
9 Austin Cindric 2
10 Bubba Wallace 23
11 Ty Gibbs 54
12 Corey LaJoie 7
13 Brad Keselowski 6
14 Ryan Blaney 12
15 Michael McDowell 34
16 A.J. Allmendinger 16
17 Daniel Suarez 99
18 Chris Buescher 17
19 Justin Haley 31
20 Alex Bowman 48
21 Ross Chastain 1
22 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47
23 Austin Dillon 3
24 Erik Jones 43
25 Kyle Busch 8
26 Harrison Burton 21
27 Aric Almirola 10
28 J.J. Yeley 15
29 Chase Briscoe 14
30 B.J. McLeod 78
31 Cole Custer 51
32 Noah Gragson 42
33 Ty Dillon 77
34 Ryan Preece 41
35 Chase Elliott 9
36 Todd Gilliland 38