clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Where will 2023 Tour de France start?

We discuss why the race named after France actually starts in Spain.

Jai Hindley of Australia and Team BORA - hansgrohe crosses the finish line during the 75th Criterium du Dauphine 2023, Stage 8 a 152.8km stage from Le Pont-de-Claix to La Bastille – Grenoble Alpes Métropole 498m / #UCIWT / on June 11, 2023 in Grenoble Alpes Métropole, France. Photo by Dario Belingheri/Getty Images

The 2023 Tour de France is set to get underway on Saturday, July 1. It will be the 110th time that the race has been held. This is the most prominent race in cycling and is one of three events that make up cycling Grand Tours, with the other two being the Giro d’Italia and the Vuelta a España.

The Tour de France will see cyclists cover over 2,000 miles in the three-week race. While aptly named for how much the race takes place in France, this year will begin in Spain. The first three stages of the 2023 Tour de France start in Bilbao, Spain and continue through Vitoria-Gasteiz, San Sebastian and Amorebieta-Etxano.

The 2023 Giro d’Italia was held during the month of May. Primoz Roglic from Slovenia ended up winning the pink jersey. Geraint Thomas, last year’s third-place Tour de France finisher, came in second, with Joao Almeida following in third place.

The Vuelta a España will be held from August 26 to September 17 this year. It will predominantly be held throughout Spain, but four stages will cross into other countries. Stage 3 and Stage 4 will go through parts of Andorra, while Stage 13 and Stage 14 will wind through France.

While the first stage of the 2023 Tour de France will start and end in Bilbao, locations change for the second and third. The second stage will start in Votiria-Gasteiz, and riders will bike to San Sebastian. Then, Stage 3 will see competitors go from Amorebiate-Etxano to Bayonne, France.

Here is a complete list of all cities and countries that have hosted the start of the Tour de France that are not inside the host nation borders.

1954: Amsterdam, Netherlands
1958: Brussels, Belgium
1965: Cologne, West Germany
1973: The Hague, Netherlands
1975: Charleroi, Belgium
1978: Leiden, Netherlands
1980: Frankfurt, West Germany
1982: Basel, Switzerland
1987: West Berlin
1989: Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1992: San Sebastián, Spain
1996: Den Bosch, Netherlands
1998: Dublin, Ireland
2002: Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2004: Liège, Belgium
2007: London, United Kingdom
2009: Monte Carlo, Monaco
2010: Rotterdam, Netherlands
2012: Liège, Belgium
2014: Leeds, United Kingdom
2015: Utrecht, Netherlands
2017: Düsseldorf, Germany
2019: Brussels, Belgium
2022: Copenhagen, Denmark
2023: Bilbao, Spain
2024: Florence, Italy