clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Martin Truex Jr. claims pole position in qualifying for Goodyear 400

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Sunday’s Goodyear 400 at the Darlington Raceway.

NASCAR Cup Series Goodyear 400 - Qualifying Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Final update: Martin Truex Jr. has won the pole position for the Goodyear 400 at Darlington, finishing the final round of qualifying with a time of 29.028. The top 10 for Sunday’s race will be, in order, Truex Jr., Bubba Wallace, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., William Byron, Ross Chastain, Daniel Suarez, Kyle Larson, Denny Hamlin, Tyler Reddick, and Brad Keselowski.

Group B update: Brad Keselowski, Martin Truex Jr., Daniel Suarez, Denny Hamlin, and Kyle Larson all finished with the five fastest times out of Group B and have advanced to the final round in today’s qualifying.

Group A update: Bubba Wallace, Ross Chastain, Tyler Reddick, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and William Byron all finished with the five fastest times out of Group A and have advanced to the final round in today’s qualifying.

NASCAR qualifying gets underway at Darlington Raceway for the Cup Series at 11:20 a.m. ET on Saturday. We’ll be here with live updates as the starting lineup is set for the 2023 Goodyear 400. You can follow along here or watch live on FS1.

Darlington qualifying is two rounds in length and will last approximately an hour and 15 minutes. The field consists of 37 drivers and they will be split into two groups. Each car runs one lap and the five fastest drivers in the two groups advance to the final round. Those ten compete for the pole position and their second-round times determine the rest of the top ten in the starting lineup. The remaining 27 are sorted based on their first-round time.

Joey Logano is the defending champion at this race while Erik Jones is the defending champ at the fall Darlington race. Logano is +1200 to win the race at DraftKings Sportsbook while Jones is +6500. Kyle Larson is the favorite with +500 odds and last week’s winner in Kansas, Denny Hamlin, follows him at +600. Larson and injured Alex Bowman lead the series with three poles apiece through the first 15 races on the schedule.

Here is the full starting lineup for Sunday’s Goodyear 400 Cup Series race.

2023 Goodyear 400 starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Martin Truex Jr 19
2 Bubba Wallace 23
3 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47
4 William Byron 24
5 Ross Chastain 1
6 Daniel Suarez 99
7 Kyle Larson 5
8 Denny Hamlin 11
9 Tyler Reddick 45
10 Brad Keselowski 6
11 Ryan Blaney 12
12 Kyle Busch 8
13 Ty Gibbs 54
14 Harrison Burton 21
15 Joey Logano 22
16 Christopher Bell 20
17 Aric Almirola 10
18 Austin Dillon 3
19 Michael McDowell 34
20 Kevin Harvick 4
21 Chase Elliott 9
22 Justin Haley 31
23 Josh Berry 48
24 Todd Gilliland 38
25 Austin Cindric 2
26 Ryan Newman 51
27 Chris Buescher 17
28 Erik Jones 43
29 Noah Gragson 42
30 AJ Allmendinger 16
31 Chase Briscoe 14
32 Ryan Preece 41
33 Ty Dillon 77
34 Corey Lajoie 7
35 B.J. McLeod 78
36 Brennan Poole 15