clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Post positions, morning line odds for the 2023 Kentucky Derby

The Run for the Roses is back. We break down how the horses will line up for the 149th Kentucky Derby.

A general view of the track from the new seating and viewing area on the first turn during the morning training for the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs on April 30, 2023 in Louisville, Kentucky. Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

May has dawned and with it comes the 149th Run for the Roses. The 2023 Kentucky Derby runs this Saturday, May 6 at Churchill Downs, and the field and post positions are set.

The favorite is Forte with 3-1 odds and he will line up in the No. 15 position. The colt has won five straight races, with his most recent victory coming on April 1 at the Florida Derby. He’s got experience in Kentucky with a pair of wins at Keeneland, but no races yet at Churchill Downs. His trainer, Todd Pletcher, has trained two Kentucky Derby winners while his jockey, Irad Ortiz, Jr. has not finished better than fourth in six runs at the Derby.

The second-best odds belong to Tapit Trice in the fifth position. He has won four straight races including the Bluegrass Stakes at Keeneland and the Tampa Bay Derby at Tampa Bay Downs.

Here is the full 2023 Kentucky Derby field with post positions and the morning line from Churchill Downs:

Update May 4 4:00 p.m. The Santa Anita Derby winner Practical Move is a scratch due to illness, and Cyclone Mischief will take the No. 20 post position in the field.

2023 Kentucky Derby Morning Line

Post Position Horse Trainer Jockey Morning Line Odds
Post Position Horse Trainer Jockey Morning Line Odds
1 Hit Show Brad Cox Manny Franco 30-1
2 Verifying Brad Cox Tyler Gaffalione 15-1
3 Two Phil’s Larry Rivelli Jareth Loveberry 12-1
4 Confidence Game Keith Desormeaux James Graham 20-1
5 Tapit Trice Todd Pletcher Luis Saez 5-1
6 Kingsbarns Todd Pletcher Jose Ortiz 12-1
7 Reincarnate Tim Yakteen John Velazquez 50-1
8 Mage Gustavo Delgado Javier Castellano 15-1
9 Skinner John Shirreffs Juan Hernandez 20-1
10 Disarm Steve Asmussen Joel Rosario 30-1
11 Jace’s Road Brad Cox Florent Geroux 50-1
12 Sun Thunder Kenny McPeek Brian Hernandez Jr. 50-1
13 Angel of Empire Brad Cox Flavien Prat 8-1
14 Forte Todd Pletcher Irad Ortiz Jr. 3-1
15 Raise Cain Ben Colebrook Gerardo Corrales 50-1
16 Derma Sotogake Hidetaka Otonashi Christophe Lemaire 10-1
17 Rocket Can Bill Mott Junior Alvarado 30-1
18 Cyclone Mischief Dale Romans TBA 30-1
19 Mandarin Hero Terunobu Fujita TBA 20-1
20 King Russell Ron Moquett TBA 50-1
Scratch Practical Move Tim Yakteen Ramon Vazquez 10-1
Scratch Lord Miles Saffie Joseph Jr. Paco Lopez 30-1
Scratch Continuar Yoshito Yahagi Ryusei Sakai 50-1