clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Kyle Larson claims pole position in qualifying for Food City Dirt Race

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Sunday’s Food City Dirt Race at the Bristol Motor Speedway.

Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 Mars Crunchy Cookie Toyota, and Tyler Reddick, driver of the #8 3CHI Chevrolet, race during the NASCAR Cup Series Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on April 17, 2022 in Bristol, Tennessee. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Qualifying results: Kyle Larson claimed the pole position with his first-place finish and five passing points. Austin Dillon will start in the second position next to him.

NASCAR will be in Bristol, Tennessee for its next races. The concrete Bristol Motor Speedway will be covered with dirt for a Truck Series and Cup Series race. The Xfinity Series is off this week. The 2023 Food City Dirt Race will run on Sunday, April 9. Qualifying will be held the day before on Saturday.

Qualifying begins at 6 p.m. ET on FS2. The format for this race is unique and utilizes a heat system. The 40-car field will be randomly separated into four, 10-car heats. Every 15 minutes, another heat will run to set the starting lineup. Drivers will be able to earn points in two separate ways. In the first, they will be awarded points based on where they finish. First place will earn 10 points, second will receive nine, third will get eight etc. Then, drivers can also accrue points per the number of positions they overtake during the brief qualifying race. Current owners points will be utilized to settle any tiebreakers.

Kyle Larson heads into the weekend with the best odds at DraftKings Sportsbook to win the 2023 Food City Dirt Race. He is installed at +550 and is followed by Tyler Reddick (+600), Christopher Bell (+650), William Byron (+1000), Joey Logano (+1000), and Chase Briscoe (+1000).

Heat lineups: NASCAR conducted a random draw to determine the order of each of the four heats. They are as follows:

Heat 1 lineup

Austin Dillon won the first heat and picked up four additional passing points. Tyler Reddick finished second and gained four passing points. Christopher Bell finished third and gained five passing points. Ross Chastain picked up three passing points by climbing from 10th to 7th.

  1. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  2. Alex Bowman
  3. B.J. McLeod
  4. Justin Haley
  5. Austin Dillon
  6. Tyler Reddick
  7. Josh Berry
  8. Christopher Bell
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Ross Chastain

Heat 2 lineup

Ryan Blaney won the second heat. Chase Briscoe finished second and William Byron finished third while adding two passing points. Aric Almirola finished fifth and earned a passing point while Todd Gilliland finished sixth and picked up three passing points.

  1. Ryan Blaney
  2. Chase Briscoe
  3. AJ Allmendinger
  4. Harrison Burton
  5. William Byron
  6. Aric Almirola
  7. Noah Gragson
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Todd Gilliland

Heat 3 lineup

Kyle Larson won the heat after starting in sixth, which earned him five passing points. Ryan Preece finished in second and gained three passing points. J.J. Yeley finished in third after starting in the back and claimed six passing points.

  1. Erik Jones
  2. Corey LaJoie
  3. Ty Dillon
  4. Matt Crafton
  5. Ryan Preece
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Chris Buescher
  8. Michael McDowell
  9. JJ Yeley

Heat 4 lineup

Bubba Wallace won the final heat. Kyle Busch finished second and Austin Cindric finished third, with both picking up four passing points. Joey Logan picked up three passing points after finishing fifth and Kevin Harvick picked up one passing point.

  1. Bubba Wallace
  2. Jonathan Davenport
  3. Daniel Suárez
  4. Ty Gibbs
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Austin Cindric
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Kevin Harvick

Here is the full entry list for Sunday’s Food City Dirt Race Cup Series race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2023 Food City Dirt Race starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Kyle Larson 5
2 Austin Dillon 3
3 J.J. Yeley 15
4 Christopher Bell 20
5 Kyle Busch 8
6 Tyler Reddick 45
7 Austin Cindric 2
8 Ryan Preece 41
9 Ryan Blaney 12
10 William Byron 24
11 Bubba Wallace 23
12 Joey Logano 22
13 Michael McDowell 34
14 Chase Briscoe 14
15 Todd Gilliland 38
16 Ross Chastain 1
17 Alex Bowman 48
18 Erik Jones 43
19 Aric Almirola 10
20 Harrison Burton 21
21 Jonathan Davenport 13
22 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47
23 Ty Gibbs 54
24 Matt Crafton 51
25 Justin Haley 31
26 Kevin Harvick 4
27 Martin Truex Jr 19
28 Chris Buescher 17
29 A.J. Allmendinger 16
30 Denny Hamlin 11
31 Josh Berry 9
32 Ty Dillon 77
33 Brad Keselowski 6
34 Daniel Suarez 99
35 Corey Lajoie 7
36 Noah Gragson 42
37 B.J. McLeod 78