clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Food City Dirt Race entry list: Full field of drivers for 2023 race

Here’s everybody currently expected to compete this week in qualifying.

A general view of racing during the NASCAR Cup Series Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on April 17, 2022 in Bristol, Tennessee. Photo by Logan Riely/Getty Images

The dirt track is back for NASCAR. The Cup Series and Truck Series head to Bristol Motor Speedway this weekend and the senior circuit will be running the 2023 Food City Dirt Race. It’s a rarity NASCAR hits the dirt track and it offers a unique opportunity for the drivers.

This is the third year the spring Bristol race has run on dirt. It switched over in 2021 and then a year later moved from during the day to under the lights at night. Joey Logano won the 2021 race and Kyle Busch won last year’s race. Both are back this year with solid odds to win the race at DraftKings Sportsbook. Logano is +1000 and Busch is +1200.

Kyle Larson is the favorite due in part to his dirt racing background. It also helps that he won last week and is off to a solid start this season. He is +550 to win Sunday’s race, and is followed by Tyler Reddick (+600), Christopher Bell (+650), and then Logano, William Byron, and Chase Briscoe (all +1000).

The race festivities get started Friday night with practice and then a busy day of qualifying on Saturday. This race uses a heat system to determine the starting lineup. There are four qualifying races with the field randomly assigned to each heat. Drivers accumulate points based on how they finish and how many cars they pass from their original starting position. The points are totaled and that determines the starting lineup.

Here is a look at the entry list for Sunday’s Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

2023 Food City Dirt Race starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Kyle Larson 5
2 Austin Dillon 3
3 J.J. Yeley 15
4 Christopher Bell 20
5 Kyle Busch 8
6 Tyler Reddick 45
7 Austin Cindric 2
8 Ryan Preece 41
9 Ryan Blaney 12
10 William Byron 24
11 Bubba Wallace 23
12 Joey Logano 22
13 Michael McDowell 34
14 Chase Briscoe 14
15 Todd Gilliland 38
16 Ross Chastain 1
17 Alex Bowman 48
18 Erik Jones 43
19 Aric Almirola 10
20 Harrison Burton 21
21 Jonathan Davenport 13
22 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47
23 Ty Gibbs 54
24 Matt Crafton 51
25 Justin Haley 31
26 Kevin Harvick 4
27 Martin Truex Jr 19
28 Chris Buescher 17
29 A.J. Allmendinger 16
30 Denny Hamlin 11
31 Josh Berry 9
32 Ty Dillon 77
33 Brad Keselowski 6
34 Daniel Suarez 99
35 Corey Lajoie 7
36 Noah Gragson 42
37 B.J. McLeod 78