clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston Marathon prize money: How much the winners and top 10 receive for the race

We discuss the prize money available for the 2023 Boston Marathon.

Eric Kiptanui of Kenya sprints toward the finish line of the Boston Marathon on April 18, 2022 on Boylston Street in Boston, MA. Photo by Erica Denhoff/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The 2023 Boston Marathon gets underway Monday morning as the best runners in the world compete in the most recognized marathon in the world.

There is a sizable prize pool paid out to the top ten finishers in the Open and Wheelchair divisions. The first place man and woman in the open division each receive $150,000. The first place man and woman in the wheelchair division each receive $75,000. Additionally, the Boston Marathon pays out a $50,000 bonus to anybody who sets a course record in the open and wheelchair divisions. There is also $27,500 to be awarded to Para athletes across five Para Athletics Divisions. More information about those breakdowns can be found at the Boston Marathon website.

Below is a rundown of the 2023 payouts, with the men and women each receiving the same amount.

Open Division

1st place: $150,000 — Evans Chebet, Hellen Obiri
2nd: $75,000 — Gabriel Geay, Amane Beriso
3rd: $40,000 — Benson Kipruto, Lonah Salpeter
4th: $25,000 — Albert Korir, Ababel Yeshaneh
5th: $18,000 — Zouhair Talbi, Emma Bates
6th: $13,500 — Eliud Kipchoge, Nazret Weldu
7th: $10,500 — Scott Fauble, Angela Tanui
8th: $8,500 — Hassan Chahdi, Hiwwot Gebremaryam
9th: $7,000 — John Korir, Mary Ngugi
10th: $5,500 — Matthew McDonald, Gotytom Gebreslase

Wheelchair Division

1st place: $25,000 — Marcel Hug, Susanna Scaroni
2nd: $15,000 — Daniel Romanchuk, Madison De Rozario
3rd: $7,500 — Jetze Plat, Wakako Tsuchida
4th: $4,500 — Aaron Pike, Vanessa De Souza
5th: $2,500 — Sho Watanabe, Aline Dos Santos Rocha
6th: $2,000 — Patrick Monahan, Christie Dawes
7th: $1,500 — Kota Hokinoue, Eden Rainbow Cooper
8th: $1,250 — Jake Lappin, Marie Emmanuelle Anais Noemi Alphonse
9th: $1,000 — Rafael Botello Jiménez, Yen Hoang
10th: $750 — Mark Millar, Hannah Babalola

Masters Division

1st place: $5,000
2nd: $2,500
3rd: $1,500

Para Divisions

1st place: $1,500
2nd: $750
3rd: $500