clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Full list of every automatic bid into 2023 NCAA Women’s Tournament

We’re tracking every automatic bid into 2023 Women’s March Madness this season.

The UConn Huskies pose for a photo after defeating the Villanova Wildcats in the Big East Conference Tournament Championship at Mohegan Sun Arena. David Butler II-USA TODAY Sports

March Madness is upon us, and as college basketball takes center stage, the 2023 Women’s NCAA Tournament is getting their field ready for Selection Sunday on March 12.

Conference tournaments are underway, and the winners of 32 league tournaments will receive an automatic bid to 2023 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship. Just like the men’s tournament, the field is 68 total teams, but there is no neutral site location for a First Four: Instead eight teams will play an extra game at the designated regional site where the winner advances.

This year’s tournament will feature two regional locations rather than four. There will be two sets of 16 teams playing in Greenville, South Carolina and the other two sets of 16 teams playing in Seattle, Washington. The Final Four will take place at American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas

As there are no newly-formed Division I leagues as of late, all 32 conferences will receive an automatic bid in 2023.

2023 March Madness: NCAA Tournament automatic bids (through March 11)

ACC: Virginia Tech
America East: Vermont
American: East Carolina
Atlantic 10: Saint Louis
Atlantic Sun: Florida Gulf Coast
Big 12: TBD
Big East: UConn
Big Sky: Sacramento State
Big South: Gardner-Webb
Big Ten: Iowa
Big West: Hawai’i
C-USA: Middle Tennessee
Colonial: TBD
Horizon League: Cleveland State
Ivy: Princeton
MAAC: Iona
MAC: Toledo
MEAC: Norfolks State
Missouri Valley: TBD
Mountain West: UNLV
Northeast: Sacred Heart
Ohio Valley: Tennessee Tech
Pac-12: Washington State
Patriot: Holy Cross
SEC: South Carolina
Southern: Chattanooga
Southland: Southeast Louisiana
Summit: South Dakota State
Sun Belt: James Madison
SWAC: Southern
WAC: Southern Utah
WCC: Portland