clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

List of teams with an automatic bid to the 2023 NIT Tournament

Here is a running list of every team that has won their conference’s regular season, but not the conference tournament, and will be given a chance to play in the 2023 NIT.

COLLEGE BASKETBALL: MAR 05 Missouri Valley Tournament - Chicago Loyola v Northern Iowa

While winning the conference tournament and securing an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament is the goal of every team in March, sometimes the one-off format doesn’t go the way of the favorite and they are left without a bid to The Big Dance.

But since 2017, the regular season champion of all 32 Division I conferences has the opportunity to still play in the postseason. The NIT is now owned directly by the NCAA, and offers an automatic bid to all teams that win the conference regular season crown.

Below we’ve listed the No. 1 seeds in conference tournaments that have been eliminated and will thus be offered a chance to play in the NIT. For teams where the regular season champion is absolutely assured a bid to the NCAA Tournament due to their record being easily worthy of an at-large selection, we’ve notated that as well.

Accepted bids to 2023 NIT (teams that have lost in conference tournament)

Big Sky: Eastern Washington
Big West: UC Irvine
CAA: Hofstra
Horizon League: Youngstown State
Ivy: Yale
MAC: Toledo
Missouri Valley: Bradley
Ohio Valley: Morehead State
Sun Belt: Southern Miss
SWAC: Alcorn State
WAC: Utah Valley (No. 2 seed in tournament, but No. 1 for NIT bid)

Declined bid to 2023 NIT

North Carolina — Link

Automatic bids to 2023 NIT

American: Houston***
ACC: Miami*
America East: Vermont***
Atlantic 10: VCU***
Atlantic Sun: Kennesaw State***
Big 12: Kansas*
Big East: Marquette*
Big South: UNC Asheville***
Big Ten: Purdue***
Conference USA: Florida Atlantic***
MAAC: Iona***
MEAC: Howard***
Mountain West: San Diego State*
Northeast: N/A (Merrimack is ineligible as a transitioning team from Division II)
Pac-12: UCLA*
Patriot: Colgate***
SEC: Alabama*
Southern: Furman***
Southland: Texas A&M-Corpus Christi***
Summit: Oral Roberts***
WCC: Saint Mary’s*

* Will be in NCAA Tournament
*** Won conference title