clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying start time: Pala Casino 400 qualifying canceled due to rain

We go over how you can watch the qualifying event for the NASCAR Pala Casino 400 at Auto Club Speedway.

Kyle Larson, driver of the #5 Chevrolet, drives during qualifying for the NASCAR Cup Series Wise Power 400 at Auto Club Speedway on February 26, 2022 in Fontana, California. Photo by James Gilbert/Getty Images

UDPATE: Qualifying has been canceled due to rain. The race remains on schedule for 3:30 p.m. ET on Sunday. The full starting lineup is listed below.

The NASCAR Cup Series returns to the track this weekend in Fontana, California for the Pala Casino 400. Qualifying takes place on Saturday at 2:50 p.m. ET and the race runs Sunday at the Auto Club Speedway at 3:30 p.m. ET. Qualifying airs on FS1 and the race airs on Fox. Both will air via live stream at

This race was known last year as the WISE Power 400, and was the Auto Club 400 for the ten years prior to that. The race launched in 1997 as the California 500, but was cut down to 400 miles in 2011.

36 drivers are taking part in this year’s race and qualifying will feature two rounds. The field will be split in half for round 1 and each driver will get one lap to secure the fastest time. The top five drivers in each group advance to the second round, and those ten finalists each run one more lap to secure pole position.

Kyle Larson is the defending champ at the Auto Club Speedway and is the pre-qualifying favorite at DraftKings Sportsbook. He has +650 odds to win and is followed by Denny Hamlin and Chase Elliott at +800.

Rain is currently in the forecast for much of Saturday, so there is a decent chance qualifying sees a delay, if not being outright canceled before the close of Saturday.

Pala Casino 400 entry list

2023 Pala Casino 400 starting lineup

Pos Driver #
Pos Driver #
1 Christopher Bell 20
2 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
3 Joey Logano 22
4 Alex Bowman 48
5 Chris Buescher 17
6 A.J. Allmendinger 16
7 Daniel Suárez 99
8 Ross Chastain 1
9 Ryan Blaney 12
10 Kevin Harvick 4
11 Cody Ware 51
12 Corey LaJoie 7
13 Denny Hamlin 11
14 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
15 Kyle Larson 5
16 Brad Keselowski 6
17 Aric Almirola 10
18 Bubba Wallace 23
19 Austin Cindric 2
20 Noah Gragson 42
21 Kyle Busch 8
22 J.J. Yeley 15
23 Ty Gibbs 54
24 Harrison Burton 21
25 Todd Gilliland 38
26 Michael McDowell 34
27 Ryan Preece 41
28 Austin Dillon 3
29 Justin Haley 31
30 B.J. McLeod 78
31 Chase Briscoe 14
32 William Byron 24
33 Chase Elliott 9
34 Erik Jones 43
35 Tyler Reddick 45
36 Ty Dillon 77