clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jayden Daniels wins 2023 Heisman Trophy

The LSU QB capped an electric 2023 campaign by winning college football’s most prestigious award.

2023 Heisman Trophy Presentation Photo by Sarah Stier/Getty Images

LSU Tigers quarterback Jayden Daniels the winner of the 89th Heisman Trophy, which was awarded at the Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Appel Room in New York City on Saturday evening. Daniels beat out fellow finalists in Oregon QB Bo Nix, Washington QB Michael Penix Jr., and Ohio State WR Marvin Harrison Jr. He becomes the second LSU QB to win the award in the last five years, following 2019 winner Joe Burrow.

Transferring from Arizona State to LSU in 2022, Daniels immediately endeared himself to the LSU fanbase with a dramatic overtime victory over Alabama and an appearance in the SEC Championship Game. That was just the beginning as he’d go on to elevate his game in 2023 by operating one of the most explosive offenses in the entire sport. He’d end up leading to the Tigers to a 9-3 campaign, completing 72.2% of his passes for 3,812 yards with 40 passing touchdowns to just four interceptions. He was almost just as deadly on the ground, running for 1,134 yards on 8.4 yards per carry with 10 rushing touchdowns.

The San Bernardino, CA, native was listed at +1100 odds to win immediately before the season at DraftKings Sportsbook, second only to reigning Heisman Trophy winner Caleb Williams. He maintained his status as a top contender even as the likes of Nix, Penix, and Williams spent various weeks as the frontrunner.

Here is the vote ranking from the 2023 Heisman Trophy:

  1. Jayden Daniels (503 first place): 2,029 points
  2. Michael Penix Jr. (292): 1,701
  3. Bo Nix (51): 885
  4. Marvin Harrison Jr. (20): 352
  5. Jordan Travis (5): 85
  6. Jalen Milroe (4): 73
  7. Ollie Gordon II (1): 31
  8. Cody Shrader (1): 29
  9. Blake Corum (3): 28
  10. J.J. McCarthy (1): 21