clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: William Byron claims pole in qualifying for Cup Series Championship Race

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for the Cup Series season finale Championship Race.

A general view of racing during the NASCAR Cup Series Championship at Phoenix Raceway on November 06, 2022 in Avondale, Arizona. Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Qualifying update: William Byron has claimed pole position for Sunday’s Cup Series Championship Race. He finished with the fastest time in qualifiers and Martin Truex Jr. will join him on the front row.

Group B update: Ross Chastain, Denny Hamlin, Chris Buescher, Tyler Reddick, and Martin Truex Jr. all finished with the fastest five times in Group B and have advanced to the final round of qualifying.

Group A update: Kevin Harvick, William Byron, Bubba Wallace, Kyle Larson, and Erik Jones all finished with the fastest five times in Group A and have advanced to the final round of qualifying.

The 2023 NASCAR Cup Series comes to a close this weekend at Phoenix Raceway with the Cup Series Championship Race. The green flag drops on Sunday, but qualifying is scheduled for Saturday at 4:35 p.m. ET on USA Network.

Qualifying will also air via live stream at NBC Sports Live and on the NBC Sports App. If you’re unable to watch the festivities, we’ll be providing live updates here until the starting lineup is settled. The process will take a little over an hour as the field goes through two rounds of single-car, one lap qualifying.

The full field will be attempting to secure pole position, but the four drivers competing in the final race of the playoffs are Ryan Blaney, Christopher Bell, Kyle Larson, and William Byron. Bell leads the entire field in poles this season with seven.

The winner of the season finale Cup Series race in Phoenix each of the past three seasons has claimed the season-ending title. Larson enters qualifying as the favorite to win Sunday’s race with +180 odds at DraftKings Sportsbook. Blaney follows at +300, Byron is +380, and Bell is +500.

Here is the full starting lineup for the Cup Series Championship Race:

2023 NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race starting linuep

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 William Byron 24
2 Martin Truex Jr. 19
3 Kevin Harvick 4
4 Kyle Larson 5
5 Bubba Wallace 23
6 Denny Hamlin 11
7 Erik Jones 43
8 Ross Chastain 1
9 Chris Buescher 17
10 Tyler Reddick 45
11 Ty Gibbs 54
12 Ryan Preece 41
13 Christopher Bell 20
14 Todd Gilliland 38
15 Ryan Blaney 12
16 Daniel Suarez 99
17 Joey Logano 22
18 Kyle Busch 8
19 Michael McDowell 34
20 Chase Elliott 9
21 Austin Dillon 3
22 Carson Hocevar 42
23 Alex Bowman 48
24 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47
25 Harrison Burton 21
26 Chase Briscoe 14
27 Austin Cindric 2
28 Aric Almirola 10
29 Corey Lajoie 7
30 Ryan Newman 51
31 Cole Custer 6
32 AJ Allmendinger 16
33 Ty Dillon 77
34 JJ Yeley 15
35 Justin Haley 31
36 BJ McLeod 78