clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Sammy Smith claims pole for Xfinity Series Championship Race

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for the Xfinity Series Championship at Phoenix Raceway.

Axalta Faster. Tougher. Brighter. 200 Photo by Robert Laberge/NASCAR via Getty Images

Qualifying results: Sammy Smith claimed pole position in qualifying for the Xfinity Series Championship Race. Austin Hill will join him on the front row. The full starting lineup is listed below.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series wraps up the 2023 season on Saturday at Phoenix Raceway with the Championship Race. The day starts with qualifying at 3:30 p.m. ET on USA Network and via live stream at NBC Sports Live or using the NBC Sports App.

If you’re not able to watch Xfinity qualifying, we’ll be providing live updates until the starting lineup is settled. The qualifying format will see each driver get one lap around the track with no other cars present. The fastest car claims pole position, the second fastest joins on the front row, and the rest of the starting lineup is set in reverse order of qualifying time.

Playoff driver John H. Nemechek enters qualifying as the favorite to win the race at DraftKings Sportsbook. He’s installed at +165 and is followed by fellow playoff drivers Justin Allgaier at +320, Cole Custer at +400, and Sam Mayer at +800. Sammy Smith is the first non-playoff driver in the odds and is even with Mayer ahead of qualifying.

Here is the full entry list for the Xfinity Series Championship race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2023 Xfinity Championship Race starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Sammy Smith 18
2 Austin Hill 21
3 John H. Nemechek 20
4 Myatt Snider 19
5 Sheldon Creed 2
6 Chandler Smith 16
7 Cole Custer 0
8 Justin Allgaier 7
9 Riley Herbst 98
10 Connor Mosack 24
11 Ryan Sieg 39
12 Daniel Hemric 10
13 Rajah Caruth 17
14 Parker Retzlaff 31
15 Josh Berry 8
16 Sam Mayer 1
17 Dawson Cram 7
18 Jeb Burton 27
19 Brett Moffitt 25
20 Brandon Jones 9
21 Kyle Weatherman 91
22 Kyle Sieg 38
23 Derek Kraus 11
24 Kaz Grala 26
25 Jeremy Clements 51
26 Josh Williams 92
27 Ryan Ellis 43
28 Joey Gase 35
29 Brennan Poole 6
30 Parker Kligerman 48
31 Chris Hacker 53
32 Blaine Perkins 2
33 Timmy Hill 66
34 Jeffrey Earnhardt 45
35 J.J. Yeley 8
36 Stefan Parsons 4
37 Joe Graf Jr 28
38 Anthony Alfredo 78