clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Martin Truex, Jr. wins pole in qualifying for Xfinity 500 at Martinsville Speedway

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for the Xfinity 500 at Martinsville Speedway.

A general view of racing during the NASCAR Cup Series Xfinity 500 at Martinsville Speedway on October 31, 2021 in Martinsville, Virginia. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

The NASCAR Cup Series is running qualifying at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday. The field will compete starting at 1:20 p.m. in single-car, two-lap qualifying to settle the starting lineup for Sunday’s Xfinity 500. Qualifying will air on USA Network and likely last a little over an hour.

If you aren’t able to watch qualifying, we’ll be providing live updates throughout the session. The field will be split into two groups, with each running their separate qualifying periods. The five fastest drivers in Group A and the five fastest drivers in Group B will advance to the final round. Those ten drivers will compete for pole position and the rest of the top ten.

Denny Hamlin is +300 to win the race heading into qualifying at DraftKings Sportsbook. He’s currently seventh among the final eight playoff drivers. He’s tied with Martin Truex, Jr. at 17 points back of Ryan Blaney for the final playoff spot. Truex, Jr., Hamlin, Tyler Reddick, or Chris Buescher would clinch a spot in the Championship race with a win on Sunday. Reddick is ten points back of Blaney, while Buescher is 43 points back and unlikely to be able to do enough to leapfrog the rest of the field.

Here is the full entry list for Sunday’s Xfinity 500 Cup Series race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2023 Xfinity 500 starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Martin Truex Jr 19
2 Ty Gibbs 54
3 Chase Briscoe 14
4 Denny Hamlin 11
5 Kyle Larson 5
6 Bubba Wallace 23
7 Christopher Bell 20
8 Kevin Harvick 4
9 Ryan Preece 41
10 Brad Keselowski 6
11 Ryan Blaney 12
12 Aric Almirola 10
13 Ross Chastain 1
14 Chase Elliott 9
15 Joey Logano 22
16 William Byron 24
17 Todd Gilliland 38
18 Chris Buescher 17
19 Tyler Reddick 45
20 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47
21 Austin Cindric 2
22 Alex Bowman 48
23 Michael McDowell 34
24 Justin Haley 31
25 A.J. Allmendinger 16
26 Austin Dillon 3
27 Daniel Suarez 99
28 Harrison Burton 21
29 Erik Jones 43
30 Corey LaJoie 7
31 Kyle Busch 8
32 Carson Hocevar 42
33 Ryan Newman 51
34 Ty Dillon 77
35 J.J. Yeley 15
36 B.J. McLeod 78