clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Aric Almirola claims pole position for Bass Pro Shops Night Race Cup Series race

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Saturday’s Bass Pro Shops Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Christopher Bell, driver of the #20 DeWalt Toyota, and William Byron, driver of the #24 Liberty University Chevrolet, race during the NASCAR Cup Series Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway on September 11, 2022 in Kansas City, Kansas. Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images

Final qualifying results: Aric Almirola won the pole position in the second round of qualifying at the Bass Pro Shops Night Race. The top ten in the starting lineup will be as follows:

  1. Aric Almirola
  2. Chase Briscoe
  3. Alex Bowman
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Kyle Larson
  6. Ryan Blaney
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Christopher Bell
  9. Austin Cindric
  10. Brad Keselowski

Group B qualifying results: The second group has wrapped up the first round of qualifying. The five fastest drivers were Chase Briscoe, Austin Cindric, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, and Kevin Harvick. They advance to the second round to compete for the pole.

Group A qualifying results: The first group has wrapped up the first round of qualifying. Kyle Larson, Alex Bowman, Ryan Blaney, Aric Almirola, and Christopher Bell were the five fastest drivers and will advance to the second round of qualifying to compete for the pole.

NASCAR is in Bristol, Tennessee this weekend for its race. The Cup Series will be in action on Saturday night with the 2022 Bass Pro Shops Night Race. The day before, practice and qualifying will be held at the Bristol Motor Speedway. Practice will start at 4:35 p.m. ET but won’t be televised on USA until 5. Qualifying will follow at 5:20 p.m. ET to determine the starting lineup for Saturday’s race.

This week’s qualifying format will utilize two-lap qualifying. The drivers will be split into two separate groups, and each group will get a 15-minute warm-up/practice session. The drivers in Group A will then run a single-car, two-lap qualifier with their faster of the two laps counting towards the standings. The five fastest drivers from Group A will then advance to the final round of qualifying. This process is repeated with Group B and their five fastest drivers advancing to the final qualifying round. The 10 remaining drivers will then run a new single-car, two-lap qualifier to determine the first five rows of Saturday’s starting lineup. The driver with the fastest lap will earn pole position.

Denny Hamlin and Chase Elliott with the best odds to win pole position at DraftKings Sportsbook installed at +600. They are followed closely by Kyle Busch and Kyle Larson with +650 odds and Christopher Bell at +700.

Hamlin and Busch have the best odds to win the 2022 Bas Pro Shops Night Race installed at +700. Elliott and Larson are right behind them at +750, and Bell rounds out the top five at +800 to take the checkered flag.

Here is the full entry list for Saturday’s 2022 Bass Pro Shops Night Race Series race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2022 Bass Pro Shops Night Race starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Aric Almirola 10
2 Chase Briscoe 14
3 Alex Bowman 48
4 Denny Hamlin 11
5 Kyle Larson 5
6 Ryan Blaney 12
7 Kevin Harvick 4
8 Christopher Bell 20
9 Austin Cindric 2
10 Brad Keselowski 6
11 Cole Custer 41
12 Ross Chastain 1
13 A.J. Allmendinger 16
14 Bubba Wallace 45
15 Joey Logano 22
16 William Byron 24
17 Tyler Reddick 8
18 Michael McDowell 34
19 Justin Haley 31
20 Chris Buescher 17
21 Kyle Busch 18
22 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
23 Chase Elliott 9
24 Erik Jones 43
25 Ty Gibbs 23
26 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
27 Harrison Burton 21
28 Austin Dillon 3
29 Daniel Suarez 99
30 Todd Gilliland 38
31 Corey LaJoie 7
32 Cody Ware 51
33 B.J. McLeod 78
34 Ty Dillon 42
35 Landon Cassill 77
36 J.J. Yeley 15