clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying results: Kyle Larson wins pole as starting lineup is set for Federated Auto Parts 400

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Sunday’s Federated Auto Parts 400 at the Richmond Raceway.

A general view of of racing during the NASCAR Cup Series Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway on April 03, 2022 in Richmond, Virginia. Photo by Jacob Kupferman/Getty Images

Final Update: Kyle Larson won the pole position for the 2022 Federated Auto Parts 400 on Sunday. The rest of the starting lineup can be found below.

Update: Alex Bowman, William Byron, Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski and Cole Custer advance to the final round of qualifying from Group B.

Update: Erik Jones, Ross Chastain, Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr. and Ryan Blaney advance to the final round of qualifying from Group A.

NASCAR is back with Cup Series qualifying at Richmond Raceway on Saturday. Qualifying for Sunday’s Federated Auto Parts 400 begins at 5:50 p.m. ET and will air on USA Network and via live stream at

Qualifying gets going after the drivers get a practice run on the track. The field will be divided into two groups. Each driver will get two laps of single-car racing, and the five fastest from each group will advance to the second round. The ten drivers that advance will run two more laps, with the fastest driver claiming the pole position.

This marks the second Cup Series race of the year at Richmond Raceway. In April, Ryan Blaney claimed pole position for the Toyota Owners 400, and Denny Hamlin won the race. Last September, Kyle Larson was awarded the pole at the Federated Auto Parts 400 by a competition-based formula, and Martin Truex, Jr. won the race. This year, Truex and Hamlin are the favorites to win the race at DraftKings Sportsbook with +600 odds.

Here is the full entry list for Sunday’s Federated Auto Parts 400 Cup Series race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2022 Federated Auto Parts 400 Starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Kyle Larson 5
2 Ross Chastain 1
3 Denny Hamlin 11
4 William Byron 24
5 Alex Bowman 48
6 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
7 Cole Custer 41
8 Brad Keselowski 6
9 Erik Jones 43
10 Ryan Blaney 12
11 Bubba Wallace 23
12 Austin Dillon 3
13 Kevin Harvick 4
14 Ty Gibbs 45
15 Chase Briscoe 14
16 Todd Gilliland 38
17 Joey Logano 22
18 Chris Buescher 17
19 Noah Gragson 16
20 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
21 Christopher Bell 20
22 Ty Dillon 42
23 Chase Elliott 9
24 Daniel Suarez 99
25 Landon Cassill 77
26 Tyler Reddick 8
27 Justin Haley 31
28 Cody Ware 51
29 Kyle Busch 18
30 Harrison Burton 21
31 Corey LaJoie 7
32 Aric Almirola 10
33 Austin Cindric 2
34 Michael McDowell 34
35 J.J. Yeley 15
36 B.J. McLeod 78