clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying start time: What time is qualifying for Federated Auto Parts 400

We go over how you can watch the qualifying event for the NASCAR Federated Auto Parts 400 at Richmond Raceway.

A general view of racing during the NASCAR Cup Series Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway on April 03, 2022 in Richmond, Virginia. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

The NASCAR Cup Series is back at Richmond Raceway for its second race of the 2022 season. The circuit is running the Federated Auto Parts 400 on Sunday and that will be preceded on Saturday by a two-lap qualifying process. The drivers will get in practice time at 5:05 p.m. ET on Saturday followed by qualifying at 5:50 p.m. Both will air on TV at USA Network and via live stream at

The qualifying format will feature two stages. Following the practice session, the drivers will be divided into two groups. The Group A drivers will each run two laps and the five fastest move on to the final round. The Group B drivers will follow to determine the second set of five in the final round. The ten drivers that advance will each run two laps and the fastest in that group will claim the pole position.

A year ago, Kyle Larson was awarded pole position through a competition-based formula and finished sixth. Martin Truex, Jr. won the race after starting in the third position. Truex and Denny Hamlin are the pre-qualifying favorites to win on Sunday with +600 odds at DraftKings Sportsbook. Kyle Busch follows at +700 and Christopher Bell and Chase Elliott round out the top five at +900.

2022 Federated Auto Parts 400 Starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Kyle Larson 5
2 Ross Chastain 1
3 Denny Hamlin 11
4 William Byron 24
5 Alex Bowman 48
6 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
7 Cole Custer 41
8 Brad Keselowski 6
9 Erik Jones 43
10 Ryan Blaney 12
11 Bubba Wallace 23
12 Austin Dillon 3
13 Kevin Harvick 4
14 Ty Gibbs 45
15 Chase Briscoe 14
16 Todd Gilliland 38
17 Joey Logano 22
18 Chris Buescher 17
19 Noah Gragson 16
20 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
21 Christopher Bell 20
22 Ty Dillon 42
23 Chase Elliott 9
24 Daniel Suarez 99
25 Landon Cassill 77
26 Tyler Reddick 8
27 Justin Haley 31
28 Cody Ware 51
29 Kyle Busch 18
30 Harrison Burton 21
31 Corey LaJoie 7
32 Aric Almirola 10
33 Austin Cindric 2
34 Michael McDowell 34
35 J.J. Yeley 15
36 B.J. McLeod 78