clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

History of Avalanche players winning the Conn Smythe trophy

We go over the two players who previously won NHL playoff MVP for Colorado.

Joe Sakic #19 of the Colorado Avalanche Alumni team skates against the Red Wings Alumni team at the 2016 Coors Light Stadium Series at Coors Field on February 26, 2016 in Denver, Colorado. Photo by Michael Martin/NHLI via Getty Images

The Colorado Avalanche advanced to the 2022 Stanley Cup Final after sweeping the Edmonton Oilers out of the postseason on Monday night. The Avalanche have won the Cup two times prior — back in 1996 and 2001. The Avalanche are making their first appearance in the Cup Final since that 2001 series win against the New Jersey Devils. We’re going to go over who won the Conn Smythe Trophy for NHL playoff MVP in both those championship seasons for Colorado.

Avalanche history of Conn Smythe Trophy

1996 winner: Joe Sakic

The Avalanche captain delivered the franchise’s first championship back in 1996. The Avalanche swept the Florida Panthers to win their first Cup championship. Sakic led all scorers in the postseason with 34 points (18 goals, 16 assists) in 22 games. Valeri Kamensky (22 points) and Peter Forsberg (21 points) were second and third on Colorado in terms of scoring. Goaltender Patrick Roy went 16-6 with a 2.10 GAA and .921 save percentage for the Avs.

2001 winner: Patrick Roy

The Avalanche made it back to the Cup Final and faced the New Jersey Devils in 2001. The battle between Roy and Martin Brodeur went to the Colorado goaltender in seven games. While Roy’s stats were Conn Smythe worthy back in ‘96, he was even better against New Jersey. Roy went 16-7 with a 1.70 GAA and .934 save percentage with four shutouts in 23 games that postseason.

2022 winner: Cale Makar

Makar led the team in points during the NHL playoffs and was instrumental on the defensive end as well, earning the Conn Smythe Trophy for the 2022 season. He scored three goals in the Stanley Cup Final, including two in Game 2 during Colorado’s 7-0 drubbing.