clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Denny Hamlin claims pole position in rain-canceled qualifying at Ally 400

The Ally 400 takes place on Saturday, June 25 this year. We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Sunday’s race at the Nashville Superspeedway.

A general view from the grandstands of the NASCAR Cup Series Ally 400 at Nashville Superspeedway on June 20, 2021 in Lebanon, Tennessee. Photo by Logan Riely/Getty Images

Final results: Rain has canceled the final round of qualifying. Denny Hamlin claimed the pole position with the fastest time in the first round of qualifying.

Group B results: The second group wrapped up qualifying to fill out the second-round field of ten drivers. The five fastest drivers from this group were Joey Logano, Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott, Ryan Blaney, and Kevin Harvick. They join the group below in the final round of ten.

Group A results: The first group wrapped up qualifying and the five fastest drivers were Denny Hamlin, Daniel Suarez, Ross Chastain, Christopher Bell, and Martin Truex, Jr. They advance to the second round to compete for the pole position.

The NASCAR Cup Series is back in action at the Nashville Superspeedway this weekend. The circuit will run the Ally 400 at 5 p.m. ET, and the starting lineup will be settled in qualifying on Saturday at 1 p.m. ET. Qualifying will run on USA and the race will air on NBC. Both events will air via live stream at NBC Sports Live.

Qualifying for the Ally 400 will be a single-lap, single-car qualifier with two groups. The five fastest drivers in each of Groups A and B will advance to a second round to determine the pole position and top ten spots.

This is the second year of the Ally 400 and Kyle Larson is the defending champion. He is installed as the pre-qualifying favorite at DraftKings Sportsbook with +450 odds. He’s followed by Kyle Busch at +750, Ross Chastain and Chase Elliott at +800, and Denny Hamlin at +1000. Elliott is the current points leader in the Cup Series,

Here is the full entry list for Sunday’s 2022 Ally 400 Cup Series race. We’ll update with Saturday’s qualifying results as they come in.

2022 Ally 400 entry list

No. Driver Car # Manufacturer
No. Driver Car # Manufacturer
1 Denny Hamlin 11 Toyota
2 Joey Logano 22 Ford
3 Kyle Larson 5 Chevrolet
4 Chase Elliott 9 Chevrolet
5 Daniel Suárez 99 Chevrolet
6 Ryan Blaney 12 Ford
7 Ross Chastain 1 Chevrolet
8 Kevin Harvick 4 Ford
9 Christopher Bell 20 Toyota
10 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Toyota
11 Aric Almirola 10 Ford
12 Alex Bowman 48 Chevrolet
13 William Byron 24 Chevrolet
14 A. J. Allmendinger 16 Chevrolet
15 Chris Buescher 17 Ford
16 Tyler Reddick 8 Chevrolet
17 Cole Custer 41 Ford
18 Michael McDowell 34 Ford
19 Kurt Busch 45 Toyota
20 Austin Dillon 3 Chevrolet
21 Justin Haley 31 Chevrolet
22 Corey LaJoie 7 Chevrolet
23 Erik Jones 43 Chevrolet
24 Austin Cindric 2 Ford
25 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 Chevrolet
26 Harrison Burton 21 Ford
27 Brad Keselowski 6 Ford
28 Chase Briscoe 14 Ford
29 Ty Dillon 42 Chevrolet
30 Bubba Wallace 23 Toyota
31 Cody Ware 51 Ford
32 J. J. Yeley 15 Ford
33 Todd Gilliland 38 Ford
34 Josh Bilicki 77 Chevrolet
35 B. J. McLeod 78 Ford
36 Kyle Busch 18 Toyota