clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 starting grid: Charles Leclerc claims pole position for Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Formula One racing is headed to Baku for the Azerbaijan Grand Prix. We’ll update qualifying until we’ve got the full racing grid is set Sunday’s race at Baku City Circuit.

A general view of the circuit during previews ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Azerbaijan at Baku City Circuit on June 09, 2022 in Baku, Azerbaijan. Photo by Bryn Lennon - Formula 1/Formula 1 via Getty Images

Q3 results: Charles Leclerc has claimed the pole position for Sunday’s race.

Q2 results: Sergio Perez had the fastest time in the second qualifying round, followed by Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz. Lando Norris, Daniel Ricciardo, Esteban Ocon, Zhou Guanyu, and Valtteri Bottas the five slowest. They will start in P11-P15 on Sunday.

Q1 results: Max Verstappen claimed the fastest time in the first qualifying round. Sergio Perez and Charles Leclerc followed. The five slowest were Kevin Magnussen, Alexander Albon, Nicholas Latifi, Lance Stroll, and Mick Schumacher. They will start in P16-P20 on Sunday.

Formula One racing has arrived in Baku City this weekend for the Azerbaijan Grand Prix. The race will take place on Sunday at Baku City Circuit, getting underway at 7 a.m. ET on ESPN. It will be available for live stream at WatchESPN.

The day prior, qualifying will take place at 10 a.m. ET., airing on ESPN2. The 20 drivers will face off for an hour of racing to establish the fastest time and secure pole position. F1 qualifying is broken up into three stages. The first 20 minutes will eliminate five drivers and the next 15 minutes will eliminate five more. That will leave the remaining ten competing for pole position in Sunday’s race.

Max Verstappen is the pre-qualifying favorite to win at DraftKings Sportsbook with +105 odds. However, Charles Leclerc is the pre-qualifying favorite to have the fastest lap time with -120 odds. Leclerc is +160 to win the race

Here is the full entry list for Saturday’s Azerbaijan Grand Prix as qualifying gets underway. We’ll provide updates with each driver’s time and how the starting lineup settles.

2022 Azerbaijan Grand Prix starting lineup

Pos Driver Car #
Pos Driver Car #
1 Charles Leclerc 16
2 Sergio Pérez 11
3 Max Verstappen 1
4 Carlos Sainz, Jr. 55
5 George Russell 63
6 Pierre Gasly 10
7 Lewis Hamilton 44
8 Yuki Tsunoda 22
9 Sebastian Vettel 5
10 Fernando Alonso 14
11 Lando Norris 4
12 Daniel Ricciardo 3
13 Esteban Ocon 31
14 Guanyu Zhou 24
15 Valtteri Bottas 77
16 Kevin Magnussen 20
17 Alexander Albon 23
18 Nicholas Latifi 6
19 Lance Stroll 18
20 Mick Schumacher 47