clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indy 500 starting grid: Scott Dixon wins pole position at qualifying

The Indianapolis 500 takes place over Memorial Day weekend each year, but qualifying is a week prior. We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting grid for next Sunday’s race.

A general view of the start of the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motorspeedway on May 28, 2017 in Indianapolis, Indiana. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Fast Six Update: Scott Dixon wins the pole position for the Indy 500. The rest of the race field can be found below.

Sunday Qualifying Update: Scott Dixon, Alex Palou, Marcus Ericsson, Ed Carpenter, Tony Kanaan and Rinus VeeKay advance to the Fast Six final round of qualifying.

The 2022 Indianapolis 500 is set to run on Sunday, May 29, but a week before qualifying will settle the starting grid for the Memorial Day weekend race. Qualifying airs on NBC and Peacock Sunday afternoon starting at 4 p.m. and runs until approximately 5:40 p.m. ET.

The process began Saturday with the 33 drivers running a single lap. 32 drivers completed a lap, with Stefan Wilson failing to record a time. That settled positions 13-32, leaving the top 12 to battle it out on Sunday. Top 12 qualifying gets underway at 4 p.m. with each driver guaranteed one attempt to secure a qualifying time. The six fastest advance to the Fast Six qualifying round to battle for pole position starting at 5:10 p.m.

Scott Dixon enters Sunday’s qualifying as the favorite to win next week’s race. He is installed at +700 at DraftKings Sportsbook. Pato O’Ward and Alex Palou are next with +800 odds.

Below is a full entry list and where things stand for qualifying. We updated through Saturday’s results and will continue updating as the Top 12 and Fast Six wrap up the starting grid for next Sunday’s Indianapolis 500.

Indy 500 qualifying results

2022 Indy 500 starting lineup

Pos Driver Car #
Pos Driver Car #
1 Scott Dixon 9
2 Álex Palou 10
3 Rinus VeeKay 21
4 Ed Carpenter 33
5 Marcus Ericsson 8
6 Tony Kanaan 1
7 Pato O'Ward 5
8 Felix Rosenqvist 7
9 Romain Grosjean 28
10 Takuma Sato 51
11 Will Power 12
12 Jimmie Johnson 48
13 David Malukas 18
14 Josef Newgarden 2
15 Santino Ferrucci 23
16 Simon Pagenaud 60
17 J. R. Hildebrand 11
18 Conor Daly 20
19 Callum Ilott 77
20 Alexander Rossi 27
21 Graham Rahal 15
22 Sage Karam 24
23 Marco Andretti 98
24 Devlin DeFrancesco 29
25 Colton Herta 26
26 Scott McLaughlin 3
27 Hélio Castroneves 6
28 Kyle Kirkwood 14
29 Dalton Kellett 4
30 Juan Pablo Montoya 6
31 Christian Lundgaard 30
32 Jack Harvey 45