clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying start time: What time is qualifying for the 2022 All-Star Race

We go over how you can watch the qualifying event for the 2022 All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Brad Keselowski, driver of the #6 King’s Hawaiian Ford, drives during the NASCAR Cup Series AdventHealth 400 at Kansas Speedway on May 15, 2022 in Kansas City, Kansas. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

NASCAR heads to Fort Worth, Texas this weekend for the All-Star Open and Race on Sunday, May 22nd. The Texas Motor Speedway will host the event, resulting in one of the drivers coming away with a cool $1 million grand prize. There are three ways to earn a spot in the All-Star Race. Race winners from last year and this year that are still competing full time, a fan vote can choose you, or you can win one of the three stages in the All-Star Open. The latter is available to all drivers who aren’t yet eligible for the All-Star race.

For the drivers already eligible for the All-Star Race, there will be a qualifying event to determine the initial race grid. The three drivers that win one of the three stages in the All-Star Open will also be added to the race field. Qualifying for the All-Star race will take place on Saturday, May 21st at 7:55 p.m. ET.

The All-Star Race will utilize a unique two-stage qualifier. In the first round, each car will run a single-car, one-lap qualifier in the reverse order of owner points. The top-eight drivers will then head to an elimination-style bracket to determine the pole position. In the elimination bracket, there will be two cars that are staged side-by-side near the end of pit road.

Pit crews get a chance to shine and they will perform a four-tire stop and drivers will then exit pit road and head onto the track with no speed limit. The car that crosses the finish line first will move on. This will repeat until the final head-to-head battle is complete and the pole position is awarded to the winner.

2022 NASCAR All-Star Race starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Kyle Busch 18
2 Ryan Blaney 12
3 William Byron 24
4 Kyle Larson 5
5 Kurt Busch 45
6 Ross Chastain 1
7 Martin Truex Jr. 19
8 Aric Almirola 10
9 Joey Logano 22
10 A.J. Allmendinger 16
11 Chase Briscoe 14
12 Austin Cindric 2
13 Chase Elliott 9
14 Christopher Bell 20
15 Kevin Harvick 4
16 Denny Hamlin 11
17 Bubba Wallace 23
18 Brad Keselowski 6
19 Michael McDowell 34
20 Alex Bowman 48