clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

When is the 2022 WNBA Draft?

The 2022 WNCAA Championship is a wrap. Next up is the WNBA Draft.

The WNBA Draft is unique because it comes only eight days after the culmination of the 2022 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament. The WNBA Draft returns in person for the first time since 2019 and will take place at Spring Studios in the Tribeca section of New York. The draft will be held on Monday, April 11th and coverage begins at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.

There are 12 teams in the WNBA and there will be three rounds. The Atlanta Dream will be on the clock first as they acquired the No. 1 overall pick from the Washington Mystics. The Dream sent the No. 3 and No. 14 pick picks in 2022 and for a first-round pick swap with the Mystics next season for the No. 1 overall pick. All eyes will be on the Dram picking first, but get used to seeing the Indiana Fever at the podium. They have four first-round picks including No. 2.

Due to the WNBA draft eligibility rules, you won’t see standouts Paige Bueckers or Aliyah Boston in the draft field this year. There are two players that are considered locks to go with the first two picks in the draft. Kentucky guard Rhyne Howard and Baylor forward NaLyssa Smith are the consensus picks to have their names called first.

2022 WNBA Draft order

Round 1 Team Player
Round 1 Team Player
1 Atlanta Dream (from Washington) Rhyne Howard, G, UK
2 Indiana Fever NaLyssa Smith, PF, Baylor
3 Washington Mystics (from Atlanta) Shakira Austin, C, Ole Miss
4 Indiana Fever (from Los Angeles via Dallas) Emily Engstler, PF, Louisville
5 New York Liberty Nyara Sabally, F/C, Oregon
6 Indiana Fever (from Dallas) Lexie Hull, SG, Stanford
7 Dallas Wings (from Chicago via Dallas, Indiana) Veronica Burton, PG, Northwestern
8 Las Vegas Aces (from Minnesota via Phoenix, New York, Seattle) Mya Hollingshed, SF, Colorado
9 Los Angeles Sparks (from Seattle) Rae Burrell, SF, Tennessee
10 Indiana Fever (from Minnesota) Queen Egbo, C, Baylor
11 Las Vegas Aces Kierstan Bell, SG, Florida Gulf Coast
12 Connecticut Sun Nia Clouden, SG, Michigan State
Round 2 Team
13 Minnesota Lynx (from Indiana) Khayla Pointer, PG, LSU
14 Washington Mystics (from Atlanta) Christyn Williams, SG, UConn
15 Atlanta Dream (from Los Angeles) Naz Hillmon, PF, Michigan
16 Los Angeles Sparks (from Washington) Kianna Smith, SG, Louisville
17 Seattle Storm (from New York) Elissa Cunane, C, NC State
18 Seattle Storm (from Dallas) Lorela Cubaj, PF, Georgia Tech
19 Los Angeles Sparks (from Chicago via Dallas) Olivia Nelson-Ododa, PF, UConn
20 Indiana Fever (from Phoenix) Destanni Henderson, PG, South Carolina
21 Seattle Storm Evina Westbrook, PG, UConn
22 Minnesota Lynx Kayla Jones, PF, NC State
23 Las Vegas Aces Aisha Sheppard, SG, Va Tech
24 Connecticut Sun Jordan Lewis, PG, Baylor
Round 3 Team
25 Indiana Fever Amesha Williams-Holliday, C, Jackson State
26 Phoenix Mercury (from Atlanta) Maya Dodson, PF, Notre Dame
27 Los Angeles Sparks Amy Atwell, SF, Hawai'i
28 Minnesota Lynx (from Washington) Hannah Sjerven, PF, South Dakota
29 New York Liberty Sika Kone, PF, Mali
30 Dallas Wings Jasmine Dickey, SF, Delaware
31 Dallas Wings (from Chicago) Jazz Bond, PF, North Florida
32 Phoenix Mercury Macee Williams, PF, IUPUI
33 Seattle Storm Jade Melbourne, PG, Australia
34 Indiana Fever (from Minnesota) Ali Patberg, SG, Indiana
35 Las Vegas Aces Faustine Aifuwa, C, LSU
36 Connecticut Sun Kiara Smith, PG, Florida