clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying results: Cole Custer wins pole position as starting lineup settled for Food City Dirt Race

The Food City Dirt Race takes place on April 17th this year. We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

William Byron, driver of the #24 Chevrolet, takes the checkered flag to win the NASCAR Cup Series Blue-Emu Maximum Pain Relief 400 at Martinsville Speedway on April 09, 2022 in Martinsville, Virginia. Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images

UPDATE: Cole Custer wins pole position for the 2022 Food City Dirt Race. The rest of the starting lineup can be found below.

Qualifying Heat 4 Update: Ty Dillon wins the fourth heat. Elliott, Larson, Stenhouse Jr., Byron, Cindric, Burton, Almirola and Ware round out the order of the finishes in the fourth heat.

Qualifying Heat 3 Update: Justin Haley wins the third heat. Logano, Buescher, Busch, Dillon, Wallace, Yeley, Gragson and Hamlin round out the order for the heat three finishes.

Qualifying Heat 2 Update: Christopher Bell wins the second heat. Busch, Briscoe, McDowell, Jones, Allgaier, Suarez, Harvick and Williams round out the order of the finishes in the second heat.

Qualifying Heat 1 Update: Tyler Reddick wins the first heat. Custer, Bowman, Keselowski, Gilliland, Blaney, Lajoie, Truex Jr. and Ross Chastain round out the order of the heat one finishes.

The 2022 Food City Dirt Race will be held on Sunday, April 17th at 7:00 p.m. ET at the Bristol Motor Speedway. For the second time, they will utilize a dirt track for this race. Qualifying will be held on Saturday on FS2 at 6:00 p.m. ET.

Qualifying is unique for the dirt track. The race field will be split up into four equal groups of about nine or ten cars. Each group will be randomly assigned their starting positions in the field and will run a 15-lap race where they will be eligible for two kinds of points. First, points will be awarded by finishing position with 10 points to the driver that finishes first, nine points to the second-place finisher etc. Points will also be awarded for the number of positions a driver overtakes in the qualifying race.

For example, if a driver starts their qualifying race in ninth and finishes in second, they will receive nine points for their finishing position and an additional seven points for overtaking seven positions in their race.

This will be the second running of the race on a dirt surface. For the first 32 years the race used an asphalt surface and then starting in 1993, they switched to a concrete surface. Joey Logano is the reigning winner of the Food City Dirt Race and he won the event in 2:43:53.

Kyle Larson has the best odds to win the 2022 Food City Dirt Race at DraftKings Sportsbook installed at +550. He is followed by Christopher Bell (+800), Logano (+900), Chase Elliott (+1000) and William Byron (+1200) as the top-five drivers with the best odds to win the race.

Here is the starting lineup for the 2022 Food City Dirt Race.

Starting lineup

2022 Food City Dirt Race Starting Lineup

Pos Driver Car #
Pos Driver Car #
1 Cole Custer 41
2 Christopher Bell 20
3 Tyler Reddick 8
4 Chase Briscoe 14
5 Kyle Larson 5
6 Justin Haley 31
7 Ty Dillon 42
8 Alex Bowman 48
9 Chase Elliott 9
10 Joey Logano 22
11 Kyle Busch 18
12 Austin Dillon 3
13 Kurt Busch 45
14 Erik Jones 43
15 Chris Buescher 17
16 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
17 Michael McDowell 34
18 Brad Keselowski 6
19 William Byron 24
20 Austin Cindric 2
21 Daniel Suarez 99
22 Bubba Wallace 23
23 Todd Gilliland 38
24 Harrison Burton 21
25 Ryan Blaney 12
26 Corey LaJoie 7
27 Justin Allgaier 77
28 Noah Gragson 16
29 J.J. Yeley 15
30 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
31 Aric Almirola 10
32 Kevin Harvick 4
33 Ross Chastain 1
34 Denny Hamlin 11
35 Cody Ware 51
36 Josh Williams 78