clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying start time: What time is qualifying for Food City Dirt Race

We go over how you can watch the qualifying event for the NASCAR Cup Series Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Tyler Reddick, driver of the #8 BetMGM Chevrolet,races during the NASCAR Cup Series Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on March 29, 2021 in Bristol, Tennessee. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

The 2022 Food City Dirt Race will be held on Sunday, April 17th at 7:00 p.m. ET at the Bristol Motor Speedway in Bristol, Tennessee. For the second time, they will utilize a dirt track for this race. There will be two practice sessions on Friday, April 15th and they will air on FS1. Qualifying will be held on Saturday on FS2 at 6:00 p.m. ET.

This will be the second running of the race on a dirt surface. For the first 32 years the race used an asphalt surface and then starting in 1993, they switched to a concrete surface. Joey Logano is the reigning winner of the Food City Dirt Race and he won the event in 2:43:53.

Kyle Larson has the best odds to win the 2022 Food City Dirt Race at DraftKings Sportsbook installed at +550. He is followed by Christopher Bell (+800), Logano (+900), Chase Elliott (+1000) and William Byron (+1200) as the top-five drivers with the best odds to win the race.

Saturday, April 16th

6:00 p.m. — Qualifying, Food City Dirt Race NASCAR Cup Series — FS2,

Qualifying is unique for the dirt track. The race field will be split up into four equal groups of about nine or ten cars. Each group will be randomly assigned their starting positions in the field and will run a 15-lap race where they will get two kinds of points. First, points will be awarded by finishing position with 10 points to the driver that finishes first, nine points to the second-place finisher, etc. Points will also be awarded for the number of positions a driver overtakes in the qualifying race.

For example, if a driver starts their qualifying race in ninth and finishes in second, they will receive nine points for their finishing position and an additional seven points for overtaking seven positions in the race. The total points will be used to determine the starting lineup.

Here is the entry list for the 2022 Food City Dirt race.

2022 Food City Dirt Race Starting Lineup

Pos Driver Car #
Pos Driver Car #
1 Cole Custer 41
2 Christopher Bell 20
3 Tyler Reddick 8
4 Chase Briscoe 14
5 Kyle Larson 5
6 Justin Haley 31
7 Ty Dillon 42
8 Alex Bowman 48
9 Chase Elliott 9
10 Joey Logano 22
11 Kyle Busch 18
12 Austin Dillon 3
13 Kurt Busch 45
14 Erik Jones 43
15 Chris Buescher 17
16 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
17 Michael McDowell 34
18 Brad Keselowski 6
19 William Byron 24
20 Austin Cindric 2
21 Daniel Suarez 99
22 Bubba Wallace 23
23 Todd Gilliland 38
24 Harrison Burton 21
25 Ryan Blaney 12
26 Corey LaJoie 7
27 Justin Allgaier 77
28 Noah Gragson 16
29 J.J. Yeley 15
30 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
31 Aric Almirola 10
32 Kevin Harvick 4
33 Ross Chastain 1
34 Denny Hamlin 11
35 Cody Ware 51
36 Josh Williams 78