clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying start time: What time is qualifying for Ruoff Mortgage 500

We go over how you can watch the qualifying event for the NASCAR Cup Series Ruoff Mortgage 500 at the Phoenix Raceway.

A detail view of the #2 Discount Tire Ford, in the Ruoff Mortgage victory lane after driver Austin Cindric won the NASCAR Cup Series 64th Annual Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway on February 20, 2022 in Daytona Beach, Florida. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

The Ruoff Mortgage 500 is set to run this weekend on Sunday, March 13th. The race is set for a 3:30 p.m. ET green flag from the Phoenix Raceway in Avondale, Arizona and will air on FOX. Before we get to the race on Sunday, we need to determine a racing field and pole position.

Qualifying for the Ruoff Mortgage 500 will be on Saturday, March 12th at 2:05 p.m. ET and it will air on FS1. Practice will begin at 1:30 p.m. ET and will also air on FS1 so the drivers will have about 35 minutes to prepare.

There won’t be any special stipulations when qualifying for the Ruoff Mortgage 500. The results of the Pennzoil 400 will help determine the two groups that the drivers will run their practice sessions in. Then, directly after practice, the two groups will each run a single-car single-lap qualifier. The top five drivers from each group will then run a second round of qualifying in that same single-car, single lap format. Those 10 drivers have a shot at the pole and their finish will determine the first five rows of the field. After that, it will be in the order that the drivers finished in the first round that determines the remainder of the field for Sundays’ race.

2022 Ruoff Mortgage 500, entry list

Pos Driver Car #
Pos Driver Car #
1 Ryan Blaney 12
2 Denny Hamlin 11
3 William Byron 24
4 Christopher Bell 20
5 Aric Almirola 10
6 Chase Briscoe 14
7 Kyle Larson 5
8 Austin Cindric 2
9 Alex Bowman 48
10 Joey Logano 22
11 Kyle Busch 18
12 Tyler Reddick 8
13 Austin Dillon 3
14 Erik Jones 43
15 Kurt Busch 45
16 Kevin Harvick 4
17 Ross Chastain 1
18 Brad Keselowski 6
19 Chase Elliott 9
20 Martin Truex Jr 19
21 Ty Dillon 42
22 Michael McDowell 34
23 Daniel Suarez 99
24 Harrison Burton 21
25 Cole Custer 41
26 Chris Buescher 17
27 Bubba Wallace 23
28 Justin Haley 31
29 AJ Allmendinger 16
30 Corey Lajoie 7
31 Landon Cassill 77
32 Cody Ware 51
33 Todd Gilliland 38
34 BJ McLeod 78
35 Garrett Smithley 15
36 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 47