clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying start time: When qualifying heats start Sunday for Busch Light Clash

We go over how you can watch the qualifying event for the NASCAR Cup Series Busch Light Clash at the LA Coliseum.

Aerial view of the Los Angeles Coliseum under construction for the NASCAR Busch Light Clash at the Coliseum, on December 31, 2021 in Los Angeles, California. Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images

The 2022 NASCAR season opens in two weeks with the Daytona 500, but ahead of that we get an exhibition race in a football stadium! The Busch Light Clash is scheduled for Sunday at the LA Coliseum and qualifying for the race begins a day earlier.

The 36 drivers currently entered in the field will get practice time on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. ET, and that will be followed by the first of three stages of the qualifying process. There will be single-car qualifying at 8:30 p.m. on Saturday on FS1, qualifying heat runs on Sunday 3 p.m. on FOX, and last-chance qualifiers at approximately 4:10 p.m. on FOX. The race follows on Sunday at 6 p.m. on FOX.

The single-car qualifying on Saturday will feature the field of drivers competing for positioning in Sunday’s four qualifying heats. The four fastest qualifiers will be on the pole for each heat race. The rest of the field will be filled using the single-car qualifying times. The fifth through eighth fastest will be in the second spot of each heat, the ninth through twelfth fastest will be in the third spot of each heat, and so forth.

Each heat race will run 25 laps and the top four finishers in each heat will advance to the Clash race, filling the first 16 positions on the grid. The remaining drivers that fail to qualify in the heat runs will be eligible for one of the two last-chance qualifying racers. The top three finishes from each of the two LCQs will fill out positions 17 through 22. The 23rd and final position will go to the driver with the highest finish in the 2021 points standings who did not otherwise advance to The Clash.

Entry list

2022 Busch Light Clash qualifying heats, starting lineups

Heat (Pos) Car No. Driver Team Qualifying time
Heat (Pos) Car No. Driver Team Qualifying time
1(1) 18 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing 13.745
1(2) 99 Daniel Suarez TrackHouse Racing Team 13.952
1(3) 47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing 13.962
1(4) 12 Ryan Blaney Team Penske 14.007
1(5) 11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing 14.053
1(6) 10 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing 14.151
1(7) 78 BJ McLeod Live Fast Motorsports 14.235
1(8) 38 Todd Gilliland Front Row Motorsports 14.304
1(9) 1 Ross Chastain Trackhouse Racing Team 14.451
2(1) 8 Tyler Reddick Richard Childress Racing 13.761
2(2) 41 Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing 13.953
2(3) 21 Harrison Burton Wood Brothers Racing 13.965
2(4) 48 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports 14.014
2(5) 23 Bubba Wallace 23XI Racing 14.076
2(6) 3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing 14.157
2(7) 14 Chase Briscoe Stewart-Haas Racing 14.247
2(8) 6 Brad Keselowski Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing 14.305
2(9) 19 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing 14.466
3(1) 31 Justin Haley Kaulig Racing 13.891
3(2) 9 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports 13.954
3(3) 24 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports 13.973
3(4) 20 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Racing 14.023
3(5) 16 AJ Allmendinger Kaulig Racing 14.12
3(6) 4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing 14.158
3(7) 17 Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing 14.251
3(8) 7 Corey LaJoie Spire Motorsports 14.326
3(9) 51 Cody Ware Rick Ware Racing 14.471
4(1) 22 Joey Logano Team Penske 13.949
4(2) 5 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports 13.957
4(3) 34 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports 13.978
4(4) 77 Landon Cassill Spire Motorsports 14.05
4(5) 2 Austin Cindric Team Penske 14.148
4(6) 43 Erik Jones Petty GMS Racing 14.194
4(7) 15 Ryan Preece Rick Ware Racing 14.277
4(8) 45 Kurt Busch 23XI Racing 14.437
4(9) 42 Ty Dillon Petty GMS Racing 14.532