clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Austin Cindric claims pole position for 2022 WISE Power 400 at Auto Club Speedway

NASCAR’s WISE Power 400 takes place on February 27th this year. We’re updating qualifying results as the full racing order is set for Sunday’s race at the Auto Club Speedway.

NASCAR Price Check — Wise Power 400 — Fantasy Salary Review

UPDATE: We’re updating Sunday race results here.

Round 2 update: Austin Cindric has claimed the pole for Sunday’s race. Below are second round results to determine the top ten of the starting lineup. The full starting lineup is at the bottom of the page.

Austin Cindric: 41.226
Erik Jones: 41.342
Kyle Busch: 41.437
Denny Hamlin: 41.529
Daniel Hemric: 41.585
Ryan Blaney: 41.588
Joey Logano: 42.197
Brad Keselowski: DNF
William Byron: DNF
Chase Elliott: DNF

Round 1, Group B update: Group B has wrapped up and the five to advance are Chase Elliott, Ryan Blaney, Austin Cindric, Erik Jones, and William Byron.

Chase Elliott: 41.177
Ryan Blaney: 41.271
Austin Cindric: 41.31
Erik Jones: 41.316
William Byron: 41.478
Tyler Reddick: 41.516
Martin Truex, Jr.: 41.517
Kyle Larson: 41.594
Daniel Suarez: 41.636
Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.: 41.688
Ty Dillon: 41.777
Harrison Burton: 41.989
Todd Gilliland: 42.505
Cody Ware: 42.634
Garrett Smithley: 43.953
No attempt: Justin Haley, Kevin Harvick, Ross Chastain, Bubba Wallace, and Kurt Busch.

Round 1, Group A update: The first group of drivers wrapped and Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Daniel Hemric, and Denny Hamlin all advanced to the second round.

On Sunday, February 27th at 3:30 p.m. ET we will see the running of the 2022 WISE Power 400 from the Auto Club Speedway down in Fontana, California. This event was moved in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic and was replaced with the O’Reilly Auto Parts 253.

Back in California, the third race of the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series will be held on the two-mile track for 200 slaps for a total of 400 miles. The defending champion of the race from 2020 is Alex Bowman. Kyle Larson is the pre-qualifying favorite to finish top three at DraftKings Sportsbook with even money odds. Kyle Busch and Chase Elliott follow at +195.

A two-round qualifying process will take place on Saturday afternoon at 2:35 p.m. ET. The circuit has brought back full qualifying after using a performance-metric formula for most races in 2021. The first round features every driver split into two groups and running one lap. The five fastest in each group advance to a second-round to determine the top ten racers.

Below is the full entry field. We’ll update with the starting lineup once it is finalized.

2022 Wise Power 400 starting lineup

Order Driver Car #
Order Driver Car #
1 Austin Cindric 2
2 Erik Jones 43
3 Kyle Busch 18
4 Denny Hamlin 11
5 Daniel Hemric 16
6 Ryan Blaney 12
7 Joey Logano 22
8 Chase Elliott 9
9 Brad Keselowski 6
10 William Byron 24
11 Tyler Reddick 8
12 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
13 Kyle Larson 5
14 Alex Bowman 48
15 Daniel Suarez 99
16 Austin Dillon 3
17 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
18 Ty Dillon 42
19 Christopher Bell 20
20 Chris Buescher 17
21 Cole Custer 41
22 Harrison Burton 21
23 Michael McDowell 34
24 Chase Briscoe 14
25 Corey LaJoie 7
26 Todd Gilliland 38
27 Cody Ware 51
28 Josh Bilicki 77
29 Garrett Smithley 15
30 B.J. McLeod 78
31 Aric Almirola 10
32 Kevin Harvick 4
33 Ross Chastain 1
34 Bubba Wallace 23
35 Justin Haley 31
36 Kurt Busch 45