clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying results: Joey Logano wins pole position as starting lineup is set for Cup Series Championship

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Sunday’s Cup Series Championship at the Phoenix Raceway.

Landon Cassill, driver of the #77 Mutoh/General Formulations Chevrolet, drives during practice for the NASCAR Cup Series Championship at Phoenix Raceway on November 04, 2022 in Avondale, Arizona. Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Final Round Update: Joey Logano wins the pole position for Sunday’s race. The rest of the field can be found below.

Group B Update: Chase Briscoe, Cole Custer, William Byron, Joey Logano and Kyle Larson advance to the final round of qualifying.

Group A Update: Ty Gibbs, Kevin Harvick, Harrison Burton, Chase Elliott and Ryan Blaney advance to the final round of qualifying.

The 2022 NASCAR season comes to an end this weekend with the Championship races at Phoenix Raceway, and it all concludes Sunday with the Cup Series Championship race. Chase Elliott, Christopher Bell, Ross Chastain, and Joey Logan are facing off with the rest of the field to secure the season-ending points championship.

The day before the day, qualifying is taking place for the Cup Series Championship race. The event gets underway at 3:30 p.m. ET on USA Network and we’ll be providing updates for the full starting lineup.

The qualifying period will feature two rounds and run a little over an hour. The field is split up into Group A and Group B. Each group will run a single lap, one car at a time and the five fastest in each group will advance to a final round. That group of ten will each then run a lap to determine the pole position and rest of the top ten.

Elliott is the favorite to win Sunday’s race heading into qualifying. He has +250 odds at DraftKings Sportsbook. Bell and Chastain are +350 and Logano is +400.

Here is the full entry list for the Cup Series Championship race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2022 Cup Series Championship starting lineup

Pos. Driver Time
Pos. Driver Time
1 Joey Logano 22
2 Ryan Blaney 12
3 Chase Briscoe 14
4 Kyle Larson 5
5 Chase Elliott 9
6 Harrison Burton 21
7 Kevin Harvick 4
8 William Byron 24
9 Cole Custer 41
10 Ty Gibbs 23
11 Tyler Reddick 8
12 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
13 Aric Almirola 10
14 Austin Cindric 2
15 Austin Dillon 3
16 A.J. Allmendinger 16
17 Christopher Bell 20
18 Brad Keselowski 6
19 Chris Buescher 17
20 Michael McDowell 34
21 Denny Hamlin 11
22 Kyle Busch 18
23 Bubba Wallace 45
24 Alex Bowman 48
25 Ross Chastain 1
26 Justin Haley 31
27 Corey LaJoie 7
28 Daniel Suarez 99
29 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
30 Erik Jones 43
31 Todd Gilliland 38
32 Ty Dillon 42
33 B.J. McLeod 78
34 Cody Ware 51
35 Garrett Smithley 15
36 Landon Cassill 77