clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying start time: What time is qualifying for South Point 400

We go over how you can watch the qualifying event for the NASCAR South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

A general view of racing during the inaugural South Point 400 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race on September 16, 2018, at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, NV. Photo by Jeff Speer/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

NASCAR is back in Las Vegas for its second race weekend of the year, and it’s a big win for the playoff series. The Cup Series playoffs enter the Round of 8 this weekend and the South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway is the first of three races in this round.

The race runs on Sunday, but is preceded by qualifying early Sunday afternoon. The drivers will be split into two groups with each group getting a 15-minute warmup session at 12:05 p.m. ET. Individual qualifying runs start at 12:50 p.m. on USA Network.

Group A opens qualifying with each driver running one lap around the track and the five fastest advance to the second round. Group B follows with its top five advancing. The second round features those ten drivers competing for the pole. The starting order for the non-qualifiers will be based on their round one lap time.

Denny Hamlin is the South Point 400 defending champion and is the favorite to repeat at DraftKings Sportsbook. He’s installed at +550 and is followed by Christopher Bell and Chase Elliott at +800. Alex Bowman won the last Las Vegas race this year in march, which was the Pennzoil 400. He will not race as he works through concussion symptoms.

Entry list

2022 South Point 400 entry list

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Tyler Reddick 8
2 Austin Cindric 2
3 William Byron 24
4 Ryan Blaney 12
5 Joey Logano 22
6 Daniel Suarez 99
7 Christopher Bell 20
8 Harrison Burton 21
9 Bubba Wallace 45
10 Austin Dillon 3
11 Ross Chastain 1
12 Chris Buescher 17
13 Kevin Harvick 4
14 Kyle Larson 5
15 Michael McDowell 34
16 Chase Briscoe 14
17 Noah Gragson 48
18 Kyle Busch 18
19 Ty Gibbs 23
20 Chase Elliott 9
21 A.J. Allmendinger 16
22 Erik Jones 43
23 Aric Almirola 10
24 Cole Custer 41
25 Brad Keselowski 6
26 J.J. Yeley 15
27 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
28 Justin Haley 31
29 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
30 Corey LaJoie 7
31 Denny Hamlin 11
32 Landon Cassill 77
33 Ty Dillon 42
34 Cody Ware 51
35 Todd Gilliland 38
36 B.J. McLeod 78