clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying results: Christopher Bell wins pole position for YellaWood 500 Cup Series

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Sunday’s YellaWood 500 at Talladega Superspeedway.

General race action during the running of the NASCAR Cup Series GEICO 500 race on April 24, 2022 at the Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, Alabama. Photo by David J. Griffin/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Final round result: Christopher Bell wins pole position for 2022 YellaWood 500. The rest of the starting lineup can be found below.

First round results: The first round is a wrap and Denny Hamlin ran the fastest lap. The ten fastest finishers were Hamlin, Chase Briscoe, Christopher Bell, Kyle Larson, Ross Chastain, Tyler Reddick, Aric Almirola, Ty Gibbs, William Byron, and Noah Gragson. They advance to the second round to compete for the pole position.

The NASCAR Cup Series continues its playoff race with the second race of the season at Talladega Speedway. The YellaWood 500 will air Sunday afternoon with 12 drivers competing in the field to earn a spot in the round of eight.

A day prior to the race qualifying will determine the starting lineup, and we’ll have live updates as the drivers run their laps. Qualifying gets started at 10:30 a.m. ET and is airing on NBC Sports Live. Each driver will run a single lap and the ten fastest will advance to the second round of qualifying. The fastest of that group will win pole position for Sunday’s race.

The list of favorites at DraftKings Sportsbook include current points leader Joey Logan at +1200. Bubba Wallace, last year’s race winner, is +1800 and Ross Chastain, the GEICO 500 winner from this past spring at Talladega is +1500.

Here is the full entry list for Cup Series qualifying at Talladega. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2022 YellaWood 500 qualifying results

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Christopher Bell 20
2 Kyle Larson 5
3 Denny Hamlin 11
4 Aric Almirola 10
5 Chase Briscoe 14
6 Ross Chastain 1
7 Noah Gragson 48
8 Tyler Reddick 8
9 William Byron 24
10 Ty Gibbs 23
11 Joey Logano 22
12 Erik Jones 43
13 Daniel Hemric 16
14 Daniel Suarez 99
15 Harrison Burton 21
16 Chase Elliott 9
17 Austin Cindric 2
18 Brad Keselowski 6
19 Ryan Blaney 12
20 Austin Dillon 3
21 Justin Haley 31
22 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
23 Chris Buescher 17
24 Kevin Harvick 4
25 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
26 Kyle Busch 18
27 Bubba Wallace 45
28 Cole Custer 41
29 Michael McDowell 34
30 Ty Dillon 42
31 Justin Allgaier 62
32 Corey LaJoie 7
33 Landon Cassill 77
34 Todd Gilliland 38
35 B.J. McLeod 78
36 J.J. Yeley 15
37 Cody Ware 51