clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2021 WNBA All-Star Game scheduled for July 14 with new format

After missing out on last year’s All-Star Game due to the on-going COVID-19 pandemic, it is back this summer with a brand new twist

Breanna Stewart #30 of the Seattle Storm handles the ball against the Indiana Fever on June 15, 2021 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Indiana. Photo by Ron Hoskins/NBAE via Getty Images

After not having a WNBA All-Star Game last summer due to the on-going COVID-19, the league is bringing it back on July 14 at the Michelob ULTRA Arena at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The game will be televised on ESPN at 7:00 p.m. ET. In previous seasons, the All-Star Game was held with the best players from both the Eastern and Western conferences. But for this year’s game, it will between the WNBA All-Stars and Team USA. On Monday, the 2020 U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Team was unveiled, which features the best talent across the league led by head coach Dawn Staley.

The players who will be making the trip to Tokyo, Japan in pursuit of winning a gold medal and will be playing in the All-Star Game next month include Ariel Atkins, Sue Bird, Tina Charles, Napheesa Collier, Skylar Diggins-Smith, Sylvia Fowles, Chelsea Gray, Brittney Griner, Jewell Loyd, Breanna Stewart, Diana Taurasi, and A’ja Wilson.

Voting for the league squad in the 2021 WNBA All-Star Game is already underway and will wrap-up on Sunday, June 27 at 11:59 p.m. ET. From there, the top 36 vote-getters will be given to the WNBA head coaches, who will make the final decision on the 12 players to suit up for Team WNBA All-Stars.