clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Official 2021 NBA playoff bracket

We break down the official seeding for the 2021 NBA playoff bracket.

Kevin Durant of the Brooklyn Nets dribbles during the first half against the Cleveland Cavaliers at Barclays Center on May 16, 2021 in the Brooklyn borough of New York City.  Photo by Sarah Stier/Getty Images

The 2021 NBA Playoffs are set to begin next week on Saturday, May 22. In the meantime, we’ll have to get our kicks with some play-in tournament games, which likely won’t disappoint. Among the matchups in the play-in are the defending champion Los Angeles Lakers vs. the Golden State Warriors, plus the Boston Celtics hosting the Washington Wizards.

Once we make it through the play-in tourney, we’ll get to the traditional bracket with each conference seeded 1-8. Below is a look at how the bracket shook out and all the matchups heading into the first round of the postseason.

Official 2021 NBA playoff bracket

Eastern Conference

No. 1 seed: Philadelphia 76ers
No. 8 seed: Washington Wizards

No. 4 seed: New York Knicks

No. 5 seed: Atlanta Hawks
No. 3 seed: Milwaukee Bucks
No. 6 seed: Miami Heat

No. 2 seed: Brooklyn Nets
No. 7 seed: Boston Celtics

Western Conference

No. 1 seed: Utah Jazz
No. 8 seed: Golden State Warriors/Memphis Grizzlies

No. 4 seed: Los Angeles Clippers
No. 5 seed: Dallas Mavericks

No. 3 seed: Denver Nuggets
No. 6 seed: Portland Trail Blazers

No. 2 seed: Phoenix Suns
No. 7 seed: Los Angeles Lakers