clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everything you need to know about Masters winners and the green jacket

The Tournament has been played each year since 1934, and most of the true legends of the game have won the green jacket.

Is Lee Westwood a good option to save some salary?

It is a tradition unlike any other, and perhaps the American sporting event that wraps the most folklore and custom into one event. The Masters is a golf tournament, but to so many the Augusta National Golf Club is almost sacred ground, and the golf course a place where magic happens.

The 85th Masters Tournament from Augusta National Golf Club begins today, but now we look back at who has won and some of the history around the green jacket and those that have won it.

Who won last year’s Masters?

UPDATE: Hideki Matsuyama won the 2021 Masters. He finished with a -10, finishing one stroke ahead of Will Zalatoris. This marked the first green jacket, as well as the first major victory of Matsuyama’s career.

Dustin Johnson won the green jacket in 2020. He finished with a -20, finishing five strokes ahead of Cameron Smith and Sungjae Im.

Who has won the most Masters?

Jack Nicklaus won the event six times: 1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, and 1986, His 23 years between wins is also the most.

Who won by the most shots?

Tiger Woods won by 12 shots in 1997 with a score of -18.

What is the lowest score?

Dustin Johnson shot -20 (268) over four rounds in 2020.

What is the highest winning score?

+1 (289) has won three times: Sam Snead in 1954, Jack Burke, Jr. in 1956, and Zach Johnson in 2007.

When was the first Masters?

The first event was held in 1934, won by Horton Smith. There were no tournaments between 1943–45 due to World War II. Otherwise it’s been held each year, usually the second weekend in April except for 2020 due to COVID-19.

Which players have won multiple times?

Jack Nicklaus (6)
Tiger Woods (5)
Arnold Palmer (4)
Jimmy Demaret (3)
Nick Faldo (3)
Phil Mickelson (3)
Sam Snead (3)
Seve Ballesteros (2)
Ben Hogan (2)
Byron Nelson (2)
José María Olazábal (2)
Gary Player (2)
Horton Smith (2)
Tom Watson (2)

Do you get to keep the green jacket?

Yes, and no. If you win it, you get to take it home with you for one year. Otherwise it’s customary that the jacket never leaves the grounds of Augusta National Golf Club. It will always be there for you, but is only worn on the property of the course.