clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Breaking down the WAC Conference basketball tournament schedule

Taking a look at who, where and when for the WAC Conference Championship, which will be hosted at The Orleans in Las Vegas.

New Mexico State Aggies forward Donnie Tillman passes the ball against Grand Canyon Antelopes forward Oscar Frayer during the second half at GCU Arena.  Patrick Breen-Arizona Republic

The Western Athletic Conference Championship stretches from March 11-13, with all games played at The Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, NV. The tournament will include six teams, who will play single-elimination games with no reseeding. The other two teams in the league are transitioning to Division I, and are ineligible for the NCAA Tournament, therefore they are left out of this event. Chicago State canceled their season, and will not return to the WAC in 2021.

All games will be on ESPN+ until the final, which will be on ESPNU.

The Grand Canyon Antelopes are the favorites, with a 9-3 conference record and some quality performances out of the league, including an 87-77 win over Nevada, and a 71-70 loss to Arizona State.

* All times ET

March 11 Quarterfinals

Game 1: No. 5 Seattle U 83-66 over No. 4 California Baptist
Game 2: No. 3 New Mexico State 77-61 over No. 6 UT Rio Grande Valley

March 12 Semifinals

Game 3: No. 1. Grand Canyon 81-47 over No. 5 Seattle U
Game 4: No. 3 New Mexico State 78-62 over No. 2 Utah Valley

March 13 Final

Game 5: No. 1. Grand Canyon 74-56 over No. 3 New Mexico State

The Antelopes break their maiden and gets to the NCAA Tournament for the first time. They have a team eFG of 52.9% and played a pretty soft schedule in the WAC this season, but scored an 87-77 win over the Mountain West’s Nevada earlier this season. The team only became eligible for the NCAA’s in 2018, and appeared in five combined CIT’s and CBI’s during their Division I transition.