clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Breaking down the A-Sun Conference basketball tournament schedule

Taking a look at who, where and when for the A-Sun Conference Championship, which will be hosted in Jacksonville, Florida.

Elijah Cuffee of the Liberty Flames is introduced before a college basketball game against the North Alabama Lions at Vines Center on February 22, 2021 in Lynchburg, Virginia. Photo by Mitchell Layton/Getty Images

The A-Sun Conference Championship stretches from March 3rd through 7th, with games taking place in Jacksonville, Florida between the University of Florida and Jacksonville University. The tournament will include eight teams, who will make the quarterfinals, playing single-elimination games with reseeding.

The first two rounds of the Athletic Sun conference will be broadcast on ESPN+, which is available for viewing by subscription. The Athletic Sun conference championship will air on ESPN Sunday, March 7 at 2 p.m. ET.

The Liberty Flames are the favorite, having won nine in a row to close the regular season, eight of those games by double digits or more. Liberty currently ranks No. 83 in Ken Pomeroy’s ratings and No. 82 in the NCAA’s NET rankings. The Bellarmine Knights lost by 16 to the Flames to close the season, but are the 2-seed in the tournament at No. 180 in the Pomeroy ratings and No. 172 in the NET rankings.

Liberty is a massive favorite to repeat as champion here.

Thursday, March 4th

Quarterfinals 1: No. 1 Liberty 69-59 over No. 8 Kennesaw State
Quarterfinals 2: No. 5 North Alabama 68-60 over No. 4 North Florida
Quarterfinals 3: No. 6 Florida Gulf Coast 72-60 over No. 3 Lipscomb
Quarterfinals 4: No. 7 Stetson 73-70 over No. 2 Bellarmine

Friday, March 5th

Semifinal 1: No. 1 Liberty 77-64 over No. 7 Stetson
Semifinal 2: No. 5 North Alabama 96-81 over No. 6 Florida Gulf Coast

Sunday, March 7th

Championship: No. 1 Liberty 79-75 over No. 5 North Alabama

Because North Alabama is ineligible for the NCAA Tournament due to their four-year transition period to Division I, Liberty was the A-Sun automatic bid no matter the result of the championship game.