clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2021 NCAA Women’s Tournament all to be played in Texas

As has been rumored, the 64-team women’s field will be housed in one place for three weeks on their way to finding a national champion.

A general view of the exterior of the Alamodome on October 11, 2017 in San Antonio, Texas. Photo by Maxx Wolfson/Getty Images

The 2021 NCAA Women’s Tournament will take place across five venues in the state of Texas, with the Women’s Final Four taking place at the Alamodome as originally scheduled. The tournament is tentatively scheduled to start March 21 and conclude with the National Championship game on April 4.

From Nina King, chair of D1 Women’s Basketball Committee:

“Like the 2020-21 season, we know the championship will have its challenges, but we feel we have the necessary structure and safeguards in place to ensure a quality student-athlete championship experience.”

“We feel certain that one geographic region allows us to focus on the potential benefits of conducting certain safety measures in a controlled environment with competition and practice venues, medical resources and lodging for teams and officials all within close proximity.”

The Sweet 16, Elite Eight, and Final Four will all take place in the Alamodome, while the other four venues will host opening round and second round games only. Those venues are the Convocation Center at UT-San Antonio, the Greehey Center at Division II St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, the University Events Center at Texas State University, and the Erwin Center at the University of Texas.

Schedules have not been announced at this time, but four venues in four days will be fine to play out the opening rounds of the tournament if each hosts a total of 12 games.