clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

When is the 2021 Heisman Trophy ceremony, who will win, how to watch

Here’s how to watch the award given to the best player in all of college football.

Alabama Crimson Tide wide receiver DeVonta Smith is announced the winner of the 2020 Heisman Trophy. Handout Photo-USA TODAY Sports

Update 7:00 p.m. Dec. 6: Here are the four finalists for the 2021 Heisman Trophy:

  • Alabama quarterback Bryce Young
  • Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson
  • Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud
  • Pitt quarterback Kenny Pickett

The award the defines its sport more than any other will be handed out for the 87th time at the 2021 Heisman Trophy Ceremony, presented by The Heisman Trust.

The four finalists for the award will be announced on Monday, Dec. 6, and then invited to New York City for a ceremony which will be in-person in New York City after last year’s virtual presentation.

Ballots are due from 870 voters, as well as all 57 previous winners that are still living. Points are given based on the three players selected on each ballot, with five points for first, three points for second, and one point for third. Voters have until Monday, December 6th at 5 p.m. to cast their ballot, which is done via secure website.

Right now it’s expected to be all quarterbacks in New York City, with quarterback Bryce Young of Alabama considered the favorite. Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud, Matt Corral of Ole Miss, and Kenny Pickett of Pitt all trailing behind.

The 2021 Heisman Ceremony will take place on December 11th at 8:00 p.m. on ESPN. You can also watch the presentation on, or the ESPN app for your phone or tablet.