clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

What time is the 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and how long will the F1 race last?

If you’re wondering when F1’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will start or how long it will last, we’ve got you covered.

Red Bull’s Dutch driver Max Verstappen leaves the pits of the Yas Marina Circuit during the qualifying session of the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix on December 11, 2021. Photo by KAMRAN JEBREILI/POOL/AFP via Getty Images

Formula 1 is closing out the 2021 regular season on Sunday in the United Arab Emirates on Yas Island. The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix airs Sunday at 8 a.m. ET on ESPN2 and will be available via live stream at WatchESPN. Max Verstappen claimed the pole with Lewis Hamilton finishing second in qualifying.

The race runs 58 laps at Yas Marina Circuit 30 minutes outside of Abu Dhabi. The course is 5.281 km (3.281 mi) in length, which makes for a total race length of 306.183 km (190.253 mi).

Last year, Verstappen won the race with a time of 1:36:28.645, which was 15.976 seconds better than second place Valtteri Bottas. The fastest time over the past five years was in 2019 when Hamilton won the race with a time of 1:34:05.715. The longest time was in 2019 when Hamilton won the race with a time of 1:39:40.382.

Hamilton has won the race five times in its 12 runnings. Sebastian Vettel is second with three checkered flags. This year, Hamilton entered as the favorite to win at DraftKings Sportsbook, but the odds for Hamitlon and Verstappen are even at -105 apiece to win Sunday’s finale. They are tied in the season-long points race and if both drivers finish in the top eight, the better finisher of this race will win the season title.

2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, final results

Position Driver Car
Position Driver Car
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team
3 Lando Norris McLaren F1 Team
4 Sergio Pérez Red Bull Racing
5 Carlos Sainz, Jr. Scuderia Ferrari
6 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team
7 Charles Leclerc Scuderia Ferrari
8 Yuki Tsunoda Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda
9 Esteban Ocon Alpine F1 Team
10 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren F1 Team
11 Fernando Alonso Alpine F1 Team
12 Pierre Gasly Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda
13 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team
14 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN
15 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team
16 Nicholas Latifi Williams Racing
17 George Russell Williams Racing
18 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN
19 Mick Schumacher Uralkali Haas F1 Team
20 Nikita Mazepin Uralkali Haas F1 Team