clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

What time is the 2021 US Grand Prix and how long will the F1 race last?

If you’re wondering when F1’s US Grand Prix will start or how long it will last, we’ve got you covered.

Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain driving the (44) Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team Mercedes W12 during qualifying ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of USA at Circuit of The Americas on October 23, 2021 in Austin, Texas. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Odds update: As the race gets underway, Max Verstappen has moved into the favored status. He is -145 to win the race at DraftKings Sportsbook while Lewis Hamilton has slipped to +140. Sergio Pérez follows at +1000.

Formula One is in Austin, Texas this weekend for the latest race. The United States Grand Prix airs Sunday afternoon at 3 p.m. ET on ABC and will be available via live stream at WatchESPN.

The race runs 56 laps at the Circuit of the Americas track in Austin, Texas. The course is 5.513 km (3.426 mi) in length, which makes for a total race length of 308.405 km (191.634 mi).

The race was canceled last season due to COVID-19. The previous year, Valtteri Bottas won the race with a time of 1:33:55.653. In 2018, Kimi Räikkönen won the race with a time of 1:34:18.643. In case you were wondering what happened to the heavyweights, do not worry, Lewis Hamilton won the race the previous four years in a row and two in a row in 2007 and 2012. The race was not held from 2008 to 2011. The slowest race was in 2015, when Hamilton won with a time of 1:50:52.703. The fastest time in Austin — the race had previously been in Indianapolis — was 1:33:50.991 when Hamilton won in 2017.

It’s not surprising that even though Hamilton lost the pole to Max Verstappen, Hamilton is still the race favorite at DraftKings Sportsbook. Hamilton is installed at -150 to win, followed by Verstappen at +180 Sergio Pérez at +1600.

Starting Grid

2021 United States Grand Prix, starting lineup

Position Driver Car No.
Position Driver Car No.
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 33
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team 44
3 Sergio Pérez Red Bull Racing 11
4 Charles Leclerc Scuderia Ferrari 16
5 Carlos Sainz, Jr. Scuderia Ferrari 55
6 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren F1 Team 3
7 Lando Norris McLaren F1 Team 4
8 Pierre Gasly Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 10
9 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team 77
10 Yuki Tsunoda Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 22
11 Esteban Ocon Alpine F1 Team 31
12 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN 99
13 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team 18
14 Nicholas Latifi Williams Racing 6
15 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN 7
16 Mick Schumacher Uralkali Haas F1 Team 47
17 Nikita Mazepin Uralkali Haas F1 Team 9
18 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team 5
19 Fernando Alonso Alpine F1 Team 14
20 George Russell Williams Racing 63