clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Final results of 2020 Heisman Trophy voting after DeVonta Smith’s win

How did voters vote in the Heisman Trophy race? We take a look at the final results.

Alabama Crimson Tide wide receiver DeVonta Smith celebrates after he is named offensive player of the game after the Alabama Crimson Tide defeated the Notre Dame Fighting Irish during the Rose Bowl at AT&T Stadium. Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

Alabama Crimson Tide junior wide receiver DeVonta Smith is the winner of the 2020 Heisman Trophy. He dominated in the field and off, picking up more than half the first place votes available in what was considered a tight race right down to the conference championship games this season.

Here are the final vote totals for the award. Heisman voting has 870 media members and the 56 living Heisman Trophy winners pick the winner, as well as one vote from the fans. The fan vote went to Trevor Lawrence of Clemson.

DeVonta Smith: 447 first place votes, 1,856 total points

Trevor Lawrence: 222 first place votes, 1,187 total points

Mac Jones: 138 first place votes, 1,130 total points

Kyle Trask: 61 first place votes, 737 total points

Najee Harris: 16 first place votes, 216 total points

Three members of the undefeated Alabama Crimson Tide’s offense ended up in the Top Five of voting between Smith, quarterback Mac Jones, and running back Najee Harris. They’ll attempt to cap the season with a national championship against Ohio State on January 11th in Miami.