clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DeVonta Smith wins 2020 Heisman Trophy

The Alabama wide receiver takes home the biggest prize in college sports after a terrific season.

Wide receiver DeVonta Smith of the Alabama Crimson Tide celebrates his touchdown with teammate wide receiver John Metchie III in the first quarter of the 2021 College Football Playoff Semifinal Game at the Rose Bowl Game presented by Capital One against Notre Dame Fighting Irish at AT&T Stadium on January 01, 2021 in Arlington, Texas. Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images

Alabama Crimson Tide junior wide receiver DeVonta Smith is the winner of the 82nd Heisman Trophy, as announced via a virtual ceremony broadcast on Tuesday night. He is the first full-time wide receiver to win the award since Desmond Howard in 1991 for the Michigan Wolverines.

The standout wide receiver so far this season has with 105 receptions for 1,641 yards and 20 touchdowns. He added 265 yards on 12 kick and punt returns, and added another score via return. His athleticism is incredible, and the precision of his routes makes him a sure-fire first round pick in the 2021 NFL Draft. He also benefitted from having fellow Heisman finalist Mac Jones throwing the ball in spots where only he could get it all season.

Smith became the sixth player to win the Heisman as well as the national championship this century. Alabama running back Derrick Henry in 2015 was the last member of the Tide to complete the feat, and it would be the sixth time that’s happened this century; Matt Leinart for USC (‘04), Mark Ingram for Alabama (‘09), Cam Newton for Auburn (‘10), Jameis Winston for FSU (‘13), and Joe Burrow at LSU (‘19) are the others.

Smith closed as a -1000 favorite to win at DraftKings Sportsbook just before the announcement.